Piquet and Stroll share wet Paul Ricard practice honours

Brazilian Pedro Piquet led the way in opening practice for the first FIA European Formula 3 Championship round of the season at Paul Ricard on Friday, while Lance Stroll ended the second on top as both were heavily affected by the weather.

Piquet led the way in FP1 for Van Amersfoort Racing with a best time of 1m26.525s with the field spread by almost ten seconds due to the rain, with Carlin’s Ryan Tveter second and ThreeBond with T-Sport’s Arjun Maini third.

Frenchman Anthoine Hubert was fourth for Van Amersfoort Racing, but was over two seconds off his team-mate’s pace, with Maximilian Günther fifth in the leading Prema Powerteam entry.

Mikkel Jensen, the sole Mücke Motorsport entry this weekend was sixth ahead of Carlin duo Alessio Lorandi and Raoul Hyman, while Hitech GP’s Ben Barnicoat and Prema Powerteam’s Nick Cassidy rounding out the top ten, with the New Zealander over seven seconds off the pace.

Prema Powerteam’s Stroll set the pace in the second session, with times much more condensed as weather conditions stabilised, with his time of 1m34.374s just ahead of Motopark’s Niko Kari.

Barnicoat was third ahead of Cassidy, with George Russell and Nikita Mazepin fifth and sixth for Hitech GP. Callum Ilott was seventh after making up lost time following a disrupted opening practice where he completed only three laps for Van Amersfoort Racing, with Hyman eighth ahead of Motopark’s Joel Eriksson, while Hubert completed the top ten.

Paul Ricard Free Practice 1 Result

15Pedro PiquetBRZVan Amersfoort Racing1m26.525s15
23Ryan TveterUSACarlin1m26.672s18
315Arjun MainiINDThreeBond with T-Sport1m27.301s17
421Anthoine HubertFRAVan Amersfoort Racing1m28.819s17
517Maximilian GuntherGERPrema Powerteam1m28.956s17
67Mikkel JensenDENMucke Motorsport1m29.426s18
74Alessio LorandiITACarlin1m32.100s17
819Raoul HymanRSACarlin1m32.887s15
924Ben BarnicoatGBRHitech GP1m33.669s12
102Nick CassidyNZLPrema Powerteam1m33.921s16
1112George RussellGBRHitech GP1m33.945s17
121Lance StrollCANPrema Powerteam1m34.183s18
1316Ralf AronESTPrema Powerteam1m34.203s12
1410Niko KariFINMotopark1m34.276s13
1511Nikita MazepinRUSHitech GP1m34.574s16
169Sergio Sette CamaraBRZMotopark1m34.678s12
1722Joel ErikssonSWEMotopark1m34.854s13
1820Harrison NeweyGBRVan Amersfoort Racing1m35.054s12
1918Zhi Cong LiCHNCarlin1m35.170s17
2023Guanyu ZhouCHNMotopark1m35.396s13
216Callum IlottGBRVan Amersfoort Racing2m30.166s3

Paul Ricard Free Practice 2 Result

11Lance StrollCANPrema Powerteam1m34.374s15
210Niko KariFINMotopark1m34.410s17
324Ben BarnicoatGBRHitech GP1m34.509s10
42Nick CassidyNZLPrema Powerteam1m35.312s8
512George RussellGBRHitech GP1m35.324s8
611Nikita MazepinRUSHitech GP1m35.589s8
76Callum IlottGBRVan Amersfoort Racing1m35.688s14
819Raoul HymanRSACarlin1m35.727s14
922Joel ErikssonSWEMotopark1m35.975s13
1021Anthoine HubertFRAVan Amersfoort Racing1m35.999s13
1115Arjun MainiINDThreeBond with T-Sport1m36.059s12
125Pedro PiquetBRZVan Amersfoort Racing1m36.922s13
139Sergio Sette CamaraBRZMotopark1m37.207s14
1417Maximilian GuntherGERPrema Powerteam1m37.579s8
1520Harrison NeweyGBRVan Amersfoort Racing1m37.820s13
164Alessio LorandiITACarlin1m37.833s12
177Mikkel JensenDENMucke Motorsport1m38.073s13
1818Zhi Cong LiCHNCarlin1m38.102s10
1923Guanyu ZhouCHNMotopark1m39.323s10
2016Ralf AronESTPrema Powerteam1m41.228s4
213Ryan TveterUSACarlinNo Time0