Sette Camara sets the pace on Hungaroring test day

Sergio Sette Camara set the best time of the day as the FIA European Formula 3 Championship arrived at the Hungaroring for round two of the season, with a day of testing before the action begins for real on Friday.

Red Bull Junior Team member Sette Camara took his Motopark machine around the Hungarian track in a time of 1m33.660s during the afternoon session to set the pace, with the Brazilian ending the day just 0.019s ahead of Prema Powerteam’s Lance Stroll.

George Russell and Maximilian Günther made it a quad of sophomore drivers inside the top, for Hitech GP and Prema respectively, while another Red Bull-backed driver, Niko Kari, was the best-placed rookie driver in fifth, ahead of Motopark team-mates Joel Eriksson and Guan Yu Zhou.

Callum Ilott, a race winner at Paul Ricard along with Stroll and Günther, was eighth quickest for Van Amersfoort Racing, with Prema Powerteam’s Nick Cassidy ninth overall despite being one of only two drivers to set his quickest time during the morning session.

Anthoine Hubert ended the day with the tenth quickest time for Van Amersfoort Racing, ahead of Ralf Aron and Harrison Newey.

Mikkel Jensen is likely to be forced to use a replacement tub this weekend after damage was caused to the monocoque of his Mücke Motorsport machine after hitting a loose drainage cover between turns four and five. The Danish driver was unable to return to the track during the afternoon session because of the damage.

Hungaroring Test Session Times

19Sergio Sette CamaraBRZMotopark1m35.194s1m33.660s
21Lance StrollCANPrema Powerteam1m34.591s1m33.679s
312George RussellGBRHitech GP1m35.092s1m34.070s
417Maximilian GuntherGERPrema Powerteam1m34.684s1m34.227s
510Niko KariFINMotopark1m35.416s1m34.267s
622Joel ErikssonSWEMotopark1m35.283s1m34.290s
723Guanyu ZhouCHNMotopark1m35.608s1m34.307s
86Callum IlottGBRVan Amersfoort Racing1m34.887s1m34.388s
92Nick CassidyNZLPrema Powerteam1m34.412s1m34.482s
1021Anthoine HubertFRAVan Amersfoort Racing1m35.071s1m34.462s
1116Ralf AronESTPrema Powerteam1m35.002s1m34.616s
1220Harrison NeweyGBRVan Amersfoort Racing1m35.358s1m34.617s
134Alessio LorandiITACarlin1m35.465s1m34.719s
145Pedro PiquetBRZVan Amersfoort Racing1m35.631s1m34.730s
1524Ben BarnicoatGBRHitech GP1m35.742s1m34.748s
1611Nikita MazepinRUSHitech GP1m35.825s1m35.203s
173Ryan TveterUSACarlin1m35.861s1m35.216s
1818Zhi Cong LiCHNCarlin1m36.250s1m35.540s
197Mikkel JensenDENMucke Motorsport1m35.614sNo Time
2015Arjun MainiINDThreeBond with T-Sport1m36.591s1m36.459s