Ilott to start on pole following Eriksson, Günther penalties

Callum Ilott will start the opening race of the Red Bull Ring weekend of the FIA European Formula 3 Championship from pole position after inheriting the position after first Joel Eriksson and then Maximilian Günther were penalised.

Eriksson had set the fastest time of the session only for the lap time to be deleted after the Swede exceeded track limits, meaning the Motopark team were denied their first pole position in the championship.

Prema Powerteam’s Günther had looked to have taken his sixth pole position of the season, only for the stewards to delete his own fastest time after being found to have improved his best when yellow flags were flying for a crash by Sergio Sette Câmara in the closing stages of the session.

This meant the Van Amersfoort Racing and Ilott were celebrating their first pole position of the season, hours after the conclusion of the qualifying session, with Günther being relegated to second place due to his penalty.

Ben Barnicoat, a race winner at both the Hungaroring and Pau in 2016, will start third in the leading Hitech GP entry, while championship leader Lance Stroll will start fourth for Prema Powerteam.

Mikkel Jensen was a strong fifth for Mücke Motorsport, with Eriksson down in sixth after having had his two quickest laps deleted for excessively running off track on those laps.

George Russell was seventh for Hitech GP ahead of Pedro Piquet, who secured his best qualifying effort of the season in eighth for Van Amersfoort Racing, while the top ten was completed by Prema Powerteam’s Ralf Aron and by Sette Câmara, who ended the session in the barriers at the final corner.

As well as Günther, Sette Câmara’s crash also affected the grid position for Guanyu Zhou, with the Motopark driver losing his eighth position and being relegated to fifteenth after being found to have gained time on the lap whilst the yellow flags were out for his team-mates crash.

Red Bull Ring Race 1 Qualifying Times

16Callum IlottGBRVan Amersfoort Racing1m23.969s13
217Maximilian GuntherGERPrema Powerteam1m23.987s14
324Ben BarnicoatGBRHitech GP1m24.024s15
41Lance StrollCANPrema Powerteam1m24.058s13
57Mikkel JensenDENMucke Motorsport1m24.091s12
622Joel ErikssonSWEMotopark1m24.092s14
712George RussellGBRHitech GP1m24.156s14
85Pedro PiquetBRZVan Amersfoort Racing1m24.328s14
916Ralf AronESTPrema Powerteam1m24.406s14
109Sergio Sette CamaraBRZMotopark1m24.551s12
112Nick CassidyNZLPrema Powerteam1m24.711s13
1220Harrison NeweyGBRVan Amersfoort Racing1m24.715s14
138David BeckmannGERMucke Motorsport1m24.773s13
1410Niko KariFINMotopark1m24.791s15
1523Guanyu ZhouCHNMotopark1m24.830s14
163Ryan TveterUSACarlin1m24.841s15
1721Anthoine HubertFRAVan Amersfoort Racing1m24.995s14
184Alessio LorandiITACarlin1m25.256s15
1918Zhi Cong LiCHNCarlin1m25.390s14
2014Arjun MainiINDThreeBond with T-Sport1m25.483s15
2111Nikita MazepinRUSHitech GP1m25.496s14
2219Weiron TanMYSCarlin1m26.631s14