Lance Stroll takes pole for opening Pau Grand Prix encounter

Lance Stroll secured his second pole position of the 2016 season as he topped Group B of the split-qualifying session around the streets of Pau on Friday.

The Canadian Prema Powerteam driver, a developmental driver with the Williams Formula 1 team this year after leaving the Ferrari Driver Academy, will start at the head of the field after setting a best time of 1m21.832s, the only driver across the two sessions to get beneath 1m22s.

Stroll will start alongside Group A pacesetter George Russell, with the Hitech GP driver having come out of a fantastic in-house duel at the front of the pack with team-mate Ben Barnicoat.

With Stroll setting the best time of the two sessions, everyone from Group B will line-up in the odd-numbered grid slots, meaning Nick Cassidy of Prema Powerteam will start the race third ahead of Barnicoat, who ended second in Group A.

Anthoine Hubert, the only Frenchman racing this weekend in Pau, will start fifth for Van Amersfoort Racing ahead of current championship leader Maximilian Günther in another of the Prema entries, while row four sees morning pacesetter Callum Ilott of Van Amersfoort Racing alongside the first of Motopark’s Red Bull-backed drivers Sergio Sette Camara.

The second Red Bull-backed Motopark driver Niko Kari will line up ninth, while Ryan Tveter completes the top ten in the leading Carlin entry.

Pau Grand Prix Race 1 Qualifying Times

11Lance StrollCANPrema Powerteam1m21.832s14
212George RussellGBRHitech GP1m22.154s13
32Nick CassidyNZLPrema Powerteam1m22.198s14
424Ben BarnicoatGBRHitech GP1m22.311s13
521Anthoine HubertFRAVan Amersfoort Racing1m22.397s14
617Maximilian GuntherGERPrema Powerteam1m22.472s13
76Callum IlottGBRVan Amersfoort Racing1m22.422s10
89Sergio Sette CamaraBRZMotopark1m22.597s14
910Niko KariFINMotopark1m22.503s14
103Ryan TveterUSACarlin1m22.641s14
1114Arjun MainiINDThreeBond with T-Sport1m22.562s14
124Alessio LorandiITACarlin1m22.676s14
137Mikkel JensenDENMucke Motorsport1m22.613s14
1416Ralf AronESTPrema Powerteam1m23.366s13
1523Guanyu ZhouCHNMotopark1m23.010s14
1622Joel ErikssonSWEMotopark1m23.560s14
175Pedro PiquetBRZVan Amersfoort Racing1m23.317s14
1811Nikita MazepinRUSHitech GP1m23.578s13
198David BeckmannGERMucke Motorsport1m23.437s14
2020Harrison NeweyGBRVan Amersfoort Racing1m23.825s14
2118Zhi Cong LiCHNCarlin1m24.633s14