Formula E

London ePrix left off provisional season three calendar

1 Mins read
Credit: Formula E

The provisional calendar for the 2016/17 FIA Formula E season does not include a race in London, but does include six new venues.

A draft race list sent to all Formula E teams last week included races set in Hong Kong, Marrakesh, Singapore and Brussels, before two double headers to finish the season in Montreal and New York.

There is no mention on the list however of Putrajaya, Punta del Este, Moscow or London.

After this year’s Moscow round was cancelled due to organisational problems at the Russian end, it is not surprising that it doesn’t feature on next year’s race calendar.

However the London round proved to be popular with teams and fans alike last year, and is set to once again host the season finale in July. Its omission is most likely a result of the legal challenge launched recently by the Battersea Park Action Group, which has again put the future of the race in doubt.

As it is just a provisional calendar however, changes can still be made, and Formula E boss Alejandro Agag commented that some of the new races are still to be finalised. Speaking to, he said, “New York is not confirmed. I was there last week and we are making good progress. Montreal is looking good and has a strong chance of being on the list we send [to the FIA]. If New York happens, they will be together in July and potentially double-headers.”

As it stands the calendar would see the third season of Formula E kick-off with the first ever Hong Kong ePrix in October, before heading off to another new race in Marrakesh. Mexico City, Buenos Aires and Long Beach would then follow ahead of Sinapore in April, and a return to Monaco in May.

The European part of the calendar then includes ePrix in Paris, Brussels and Berlin, before finishing off with two double-headers in Montreal and New York at the end of July.

The plan would then be to delay the beginning of season four of the championship until December 2017.

[table id=1095 /]

Related posts
Formula E

Envision Virgin Racing forms multi-year strategic partnership with Johnson Matthey

2 Mins read
As part of the agreement, Envision Virgin Racing and Johnson Matthey will be working together to develop an electric two-seater Formula E style racing car.
Formula E

Envision Virgin Racing launches competition for new eco-inspired race suit design

1 Mins read
Envision Virgin Racing’s contest for under 16’s is being run in conjunction with children’s illustrator Rob Biddulph (#DrawWithRob), National Geographic Kids and the UN’s Global Climate Summit COP26 ‘Together For Our Planet’
Formula 1Formula E

Felix da Costa ‘Wasn’t Interested’ in Paying for Portuguese GP Free Practice Chance

1 Mins read
Antonio Felix da Costa was approached by some teams prior to the Portuguese Grand Prix last year to run in Free practice at Portimão.


Leave a Reply