European Formula 3

Maiden victory for Lorandi in Pau Grand Prix

1 Mins read

Alessio Lorandi became the seventh different race winner in nine FIA European Formula 3 Championship races as he held off the challenge of Lance Stroll to take victory in Sunday’s Pau Grand Prix.

The Italian started the race from pole position and after a good start was able to avoid the carnage behind him that saw five cars eliminated on the opening lap.

Whilst fighting for third place heading down the kink on the front straight, Nick Cassidy and Sergio Sette Camara collided, pushing both into the outside barriers, and causing havoc behind them. David Beckmann’s rookie weekend ended with damage at both ends of his car, while both Zhi Cong Li and Nikita Mazepin were also eliminated from proceedings.

With cars stranded on track, the safety car was called upon, and after the cars were removed out of harms way, Lorandi led away at the restart, with Stroll in close contention.

Prema Powerteam’s Stroll put pressure on the Carlin driver for the first few laps, but was forced to settle for second, allowing Lorandi to secure his maiden car racing victory and the title of Pau Grand Prix winner.

George Russell, who secured victory in race two of the weekend on Saturday, secured the final spot on the podium for Hitech GP, finishing not far behind Stroll having started the race relatively slowly before attacking over the closing laps.

Callum Ilott took fourth for Van Amersfoort Racing ahead of Mücke Motorsport’s Mikkel Jensen, while Joel Eriksson of Motopark got the better of Carlin’s Ryan Tveter just after the restart to take sixth.

Red Bull-backed Niko Kari was eighth for Motopark, while Arjun Maini of ThreeBond with T-Sport and Pedro Piquet of Van Amersfoort Racing completed the point’s scorers.

Pau Grand Prix Race Result

[table id=1078 /]

Related posts
DTMEuropean Formula 3Formula European MastersGeneral Formula 3

Fenestraz Loses Renault Backing after Failing to Meet Top Three Target

1 Mins read
Sacha Fenestraz’s failure to finish inside the top three in the FIA European Formula 3 championship in 2018 has cost him his place in the Renault Sport Academy.
European Formula 3Season Review

Season Review: 2018 FIA European Formula 3 Championship - Schumacher's Title

7 Mins read
The Checkered Flag looks back at the 2018 FIA European Formula 3 Championship season, a year where the name of Schumacher once again became the one to beat in motor sport.
DTMEuropean Formula 3FIA World RallycrossGT World Challenge Europe Endurance CupPorsche Mobil 1 Supercup

Andreas Bakkerud Heads Audi's Rookie Test Line-Up

1 Mins read
The World Rallycross Championship race winner is one of the six drivers called up by Audi for the end-of-season rookie testing.

Leave a Reply