Lance Stroll secures double Red Bull Ring Pole

Lance Stroll - Credit: FIA Formula 3 European Championship / Thomas Suer

Lance Stroll secured a double pole position for races two and three of the FIA European Formula 3 Championship round at the Red Bull Ring on Friday.

The Prema Powerteam driver beat George Russell to pole for race two by just 0.002s, while his second fastest time of the session was enough to deny Callum Ilott his second pole of the day by 0.079s.

Stroll set a best time of 1m23.178s to pip Hitech GP’s Russell for race two at the Austrian circuit, with Van Amersfoort Racing’s Ilott third ahead of Motopark’s Niko Kari.

Mücke Motorsport made it five different teams inside the top five on the grid, with David Beckmann taking fifth and impressing on just his second weekend in the championship following his debut around the streets of Pau just last weekend.

Sergio Sette Câmara was sixth for Motopark, with Prema Powerteam duo Maximilian Günther and Ralf Aron alongside each other on row four, while Mikkel Jensen of Mücke Motorsport and Joel Eriksson of Motopark completed the top ten.

Stroll’s second best time of 1m23.240s was enough for him to beat Ilott to pole for Sunday’s final race of the weekend, with Kari and Aron lining up on row two ahead of Beckmann and Russell.

Günther and Eriksson will share row four, while Ben Barnicoat of Hitech GP will start ninth ahead of Jensen.

Red Bull Ring Race 2 Qualifying Times

11Lance StrollCANPrema Powerteam1m23.178s14
212George RussellGBRHitech GP1m23.180s15
36Callum IlottGBRVan Amersfoort Racing1m23.274s14
410Niko KariFINMotopark1m23.300s14
58David BeckmannGERMucke Motorsport1m23.305s14
69Sergio Sette CamaraBRZMotopark1m23.327s14
717Maximilian GuntherGERPrema Powerteam1m23.339s14
816Ralf AronESTPrema Powerteam1m23.359s14
97Mikkel JensenDENMucke Motorsport1m23.373s14
1022Joel ErikssonSWEMotopark1m23.439s14
1124Ben BarnicoatGBRHitech GP1m23.651s14
122Nick CassidyNZLPrema Powerteam1m23.651s13
1320Harrison NeweyGBRVan Amersfoort Racing1m23.691s15
145Pedro PiquetBRZVan Amersfoort Racing1m23.740s15
153Ryan TveterUSACarlin1m23.932s15
164Alessio LorandiITACarlin1m24.015s14
1721Anthoine HubertFRAVan Amersfoort Racing1m24.035s14
1811Nikita MazepinRUSHitech GP1m24.056s15
1918Zhi Cong LiCHNCarlin1m24.209s14
2023Guanyu ZhouCHNMotopark1m24.251s13
2114Arjun MainiINDThreeBond with T-Sport1m24.457s15
2219Weiron TanMYSCarlin1m25.379s14

Red Bull Ring Race 3 Qualifying Times

11Lance StrollCANPrema Powerteam1m23.240s14
26Callum IlottGBRVan Amersfoort Racing1m23.319s14
310Niko KariFINMotopark1m23.439s14
416Ralf AronESTPrema Powerteam1m23.441s14
58David BeckmannGERMucke Motorsport1m23.448s14
612George RussellGBRHitech GP1m23.479s15
717Maximilian GuntherGERPrema Powerteam1m23.498s14
822Joel ErikssonSWEMotopark1m23.645s14
924Ben BarnicoatGBRHitech GP1m23.707s14
107Mikkel JensenDENMucke Motorsport1m23.742s14
119Sergio Sette CamaraBRZMotopark1m23.748s14
1220Harrison NeweyGBRVan Amersfoort Racing1m23.809s15
1311Nikita MazepinRUSHitech GP1m24.099s15
1421Anthoine HubertFRAVan Amersfoort Racing1m24.154s14
152Nick CassidyNZLPrema Powerteam1m24.240s13
1618Zhi Cong LiCHNCarlin1m24.439s14
1723Guanyu ZhouCHNMotopark1m24.447s13
185Pedro PiquetBRZVan Amersfoort Racing1m24.459s15
193Ryan TveterUSACarlin1m24.511s15
204Alessio LorandiITACarlin1m24.695s14
2114Arjun MainiINDThreeBond with T-Sport1m24.791s15
2219Weiron TanMYSCarlin1m26.750s14