Cassidy secures maiden pole in opening Zandvoort Qualifying

Nick Cassidy - Credit: FIA Formula 3 European Championship

Nick Cassidy secured his maiden FIA European Formula 3 Championship pole position as he ended the first qualifying session at Zandvoort on top.

The New Zealander lead a Prema Powerteam 1-2 ahead of his German team-mate Maximilian Günther, with Cassidy setting a best time of 1:28.533 around the Dutch circuit, 0.224 seconds better than Günther.

George Russell was third quickest for Hitech GP, but will find himself eighth on the grid once his penalty carried over from the Norisring is applied, meaning Prema drivers will start the race in the top three positions, with championship leader Lance Stroll the leading beneficiary of Russell’s demotion.

Callum Ilott will join Stroll on the second row for Van Amersfoort Racing, while Alessio Lorandi had his best qualifying performance for a while and will start fifth for Carlin alongside Motopark’s Niko Kari.

David Beckmann will start seventh in the leading Mücke Motorsport entry alongside the demoted Russell, while Antoine Hubert, fresh from his maiden series victory last time out in Germany, will start ninth for Van Amersfoort Racing alongside Carlin’s Ryan Tveter.

Sergio Sette Câmara, who earlier this week made his Formula 1 testing debut with Scuderia Toro Rosso, was eleventh for Motopark ahead of team-mate Joel Eriksson, while Nikita Mazepin, who also joined the Formula 1 test with Sahara Force India, was fifteenth.

Ben Barnicoat failed to set a time in his Hitech entry due to a brake fluid leakage, and will start at the back of the twenty-car field for the opening race of the weekend.

Zandvoort Race 1 Qualifying Result

12Nick CassidyNZLPrema Powerteam1:28.5337
217Maximilian GuntherGERPrema Powerteam1:28.7577
312George RussellGBRHitech GP1:28.78912
41Lance StrollCANPrema Powerteam1:28.8427
56Callum IlottGBRVan Amersfoort Racing1:28.8888
64Alessio LorandiITACarlin1:29.1838
710Niko KariFINMotopark1:29.2039
88David BeckmannGERMucke Motorsport1:29.2298
921Anthoine HubertFRAVan Amersfoort Racing1:29.2798
103Ryan TveterUSACarlin1:29.2958
119Sergio Sette CamaraBRZMotopark1:29.3538
1222Joel ErikssonSWEMotopark1:29.3639
1316Ralf AronESTPrema Powerteam1:29.4278
147Mikkel JensenDENMucke Motorsport1:29.4408
1511Nikita MazepinRUSHitech GP1:29.58211
165Pedro PiquetBRZVan Amersfoort Racing1:29.75510
1723Guanyu ZhouCHNMotopark1:29.7859
1820Harrison NeweyGBRVan Amersfoort Racing1:29.8908
1919Weiron TanMYSCarlin1:30.2578
2024Ben BarnicoatGBRHitech GPNo Time0