European Formula 3

Günther beats Cassidy to final Zandvoort victory

1 Mins read
Maximilian Günther - Credit: FIA Formula 3 European Championship

Maximilian Günther secured victory in race three at Zandvoort on Sunday to complete a hat trick of triumphs for Prema Powerteam at the Dutch circuit this weekend.

The German led away from pole position and was never under threat from behind, with Günther claiming his third victory of the season by 1.287 seconds from team-mate and race two winner Nick Cassidy.

David Beckmann drove the best race of the season so far as the sixteen-year-old claimed his maiden overall podium for Mücke Motorsport, with the German claiming the rookie victory as well.

Beckmann was well clear of fourth placed Alessio Lorandi, who was shadowed throughout the 23-lap race by the British pairing of George Russell and Callum Ilott, with the Carlin, Hitech GP and van Amersfoort Racing racers nose to tail almost from start to finish.

Joel Eriksson was seventh and the only representative of Motopark within the top ten, with the Swede finishing just ahead of Estonian racer Ralf Aron of Prema Powerteam.

Ben Barnicoat was ninth for Hitech GP, with Anthoine Hubert securing the final point on offer in tenth for Van Amersfoort Racing after Ryan Tveter made a slow start.

Championship leader Lance Stroll had another quiet race having started at the back of the field, and used the afternoon as more of a test session with a couple of pit stops as he finished a lap down in nineteenth. Stroll will at least have the satisfaction of taking a 56-point lead away from the Dutch circuit after winning race one on Saturday.

The only retirement of the race came when Weiron Tan crashed out in his Carlin, which resulted in the worrying sight of a crane attending to his car without the use of a safety car, particularly on the first anniversary of the tragic passing of Jules Bianchi.

Zandvoort Race 3 Result

[table id=1283 /]

13729 posts

About author
Long time motorsport fanatic, covering Formula 1 and the occassional other series. Feel free to give him a follow on Twitter at @Paul11MSport.
Related posts
DTMEuropean Formula 3Formula European MastersGeneral Formula 3

Fenestraz Loses Renault Backing after Failing to Meet Top Three Target

1 Mins read
Sacha Fenestraz’s failure to finish inside the top three in the FIA European Formula 3 championship in 2018 has cost him his place in the Renault Sport Academy.
European Formula 3Season Review

Season Review: 2018 FIA European Formula 3 Championship - Schumacher's Title

7 Mins read
The Checkered Flag looks back at the 2018 FIA European Formula 3 Championship season, a year where the name of Schumacher once again became the one to beat in motor sport.
DTMEuropean Formula 3FIA World RallycrossGT World ChallengePorsche Mobil 1 Supercup

Andreas Bakkerud Heads Audi's Rookie Test Line-Up

1 Mins read
The World Rallycross Championship race winner is one of the six drivers called up by Audi for the end-of-season rookie testing.