Prost grabs pole as title contenders lose out in rain hit qualifying

Race. Paris e-Prix, Paris, France, Europe. Saturday 23 April 2016 Photo: Adam Warner /LAT/FE ref: Digital Image _A8C1318

Formula E title contenders Lucas di Grassi and Sebastien Buemi will start in 11th and 14th respectively after a rain hit qualifying session at the London ePrix.

Both drivers were drawn in the third qualifying group, and due to a mid-session downpour, it meant they were faced with a wet track for their runs. Buemi was then only able to post a lap fast enough for 14th, with di Grassi going a second faster for 11th.

The only drivers to avoid the rain were those in the first group, effectively guaranteeing them all a place in the super pole shootout, and it was Nico Prost who made the most of the golden opportunity presented to him.

Despite a big lock up on his final run, he was able to beat Bruno Senna’s time by over half a second to grab pole position. Oliver Turvey and Robin Frijns line up third and fourth, and Jean-Eric Vergne starts fifth after he was unable to run in the super pole shootout having clipped the wall earlier in the session.

Behind them is di Grassi’s teammate Daniel Abt and race winner from last year Sam Bird. Nick Heidfeld, Stephane Sarrazin and Loic Duval then complete the top ten, and having shown good pace in practice, will prove a challenge for di Grassi and Buemi to get past.

Going into the second last race of the season though things couldn’t be positioned any better, with di Grassi looking to extend his slender one point lead over Buemi before tomorrow’s finale.

1Nico ProstFRARenault e.dams1m27.192
2Bruno SennaBRAMahindra Racing1m27.758
3Oliver TurveyGBRNextEV TCR1m28.284
4Robin FrijnsNEDAndretti1m29.500
5Jean-Eric VergneFRADS Virgin Racing1m26.799
6Daniel AbtGERAbt Schaeffler Audi Sport1m29.814
7Sam BirdGBRDS Virgin Racing1m30.453
8Nick HeidfeldGERMahindra Racing1m32.367
9Stephane SarrazinFRAVenturi1m33.660
10Loic DuvalFRADragon Racing1m35.315
11Lucas di GrassiBRAAbt Schaeffler Audi Sport1m35.711
12Jerome d'AmbrosioBELDragon Racing1m35.727
13Ma Qing HuaCHITeam Aguri1m36.748
14Sebastien BuemiSWIRenault e.dams1m36.771
15Mike ConwayGBRVenturi1m37.562
16Antonio Felix da CostaPORTeam Aguri1m38.501
17Nelson Piquet JrBRANextEV TCR1m38.922
18Simona de SilvestroSWIAndretti1m50.455