Renault takes title double after London ePrix win

? during the 2016 Formula E championship, at London, England, from July 2 to 3 - Photo Clement Luck / DPPI

Renault e.dams secured both the team’s and driver’s championships after their wins in London.

Nico Prost’s win on Saturday, along with Sebastien Buemi’s three points for pole position, put the team 43 points ahead of nearest rivals Abt Schaeffler Audi Sport going into the last race.

With only 45 points available it was unlikely they were going to be caught, and Nico Prost’s second win of the weekend duly secured them their second team’s championship in a row.

Buemi’s hard work in securing the fastest lap meant he also took the driver’s title by just two points from Lucas di Grassi, meaning it was a double celebration for the team.

New Formula E champion Sebastien Buemi said, “Everyone has worked so hard to get here and they deserve the title. The cleanest and fastest driver won and the best team too.”

Speaking after his win, Nico Prost added, “We’ve had a fantastic weekend, with two wins, so you can’t get much better than this.

“Yesterday was important as I have had a very difficult season, but bounced back gradually and found the winning form right at the end. I’m so pleased to have secured third in the championship, delighted for Séb and of course very proud of this phenomenal team.”

His father and Senior Team Manager Alain Prost praised the work that Renault had put into the powertrain that had given their car an advantage over the rest of the field for the entire season.

He added, “I am extremely proud of the team today. Formula E is one of the most competitive environments I have ever experienced, and to win two titles today is an extraordinary achievement.

“We were fighting against top teams and drivers and never took it as a given that we could win. We have worked hard all year to put together the best car possible and Renault did a fantastic job with the powertrain.”

“Two titles in two years is a fantastic tribute to everyone who has given their time and effort to the team.”


2015/16 Driver’s Championship

1Sebastien BuemiSWIRenault e.dams155
2Lucas di GrassiBRAAbt Schaeffler Audi153
3Nicolas ProstFRARenault e.dams115
4Sam BirdGBRDS Virgin Racing88
5Jerome d'AmrosioBELDragon Racing83
6Stephane SarrazinFRAVenturi70
7Daniel AbtGERAbt Schaeffler Audi68
8Loic DuvalFRADragon Racing60
9Jean-Eric VergneFRADS Virgin Racing55
10Nick HeidfeldGERMahindra Racing51
11Bruno SennaBRAMahindra Racing50
12Robin FrijnsNEDAndretti45
13Antonio Felix da CostaPORTeam Aguri30
14Oliver TurveyGBRNextEV TCR10
15Mike ConwayGBRVenturi7
16Nelson Piquet JrBRANextEV TCR7
17Nathanael BerthonFRATeam Aguri4
18Simona de SilvestroSUIAndretti4
19Jacques VilleneuveCANVenturi0
20Ma Qing HuaCHITeam Aguri0

2015/16 Team’s Championship

1Renault e.damsFRA267
2Abt Schaeffler Audi SportGER221
3DS Virgin RacingGBR146
4Dragon RacingUSA141
5Mahindra RacingIND107
6Venturi MON75
8Team AguriJAP34