European Formula 3

Stroll dominates safety car filled opening Spa race

1 Mins read
Lance Stroll - Credit: Craig Robertson /

Lance Stroll extended his championship lead with a seventh victory of 2016 at a wet Spa-Francorchamps in a race affected heavily by the safety car.

The race began, and ended, behind the safety car, with the majority of the first half of the race seeing Stroll lead the field behind it, with only fourteen minutes on the clock remaining when the race finally got underway.

Stroll was in a league of his own when at the front of the field, building up almost a nine-second advantage when the safety car was called upon again when Weiron Tan crashed at Les Combes, moments after taking a drive-through penalty for overtaking under the first safety car.

The clock run down to zero before the action could resume again, meaning Prema Powerteam’s Stroll secured the victory, leading a team 1-2 from team-mate and his closest championship rival Maximilian Günther.

Ben Barnicoat took the final podium spot after a great battle in the few green flag laps of the race with Nick Cassidy, who was denied in making it a Prema 1-2-3 by the Hitech GP driver. Cassidy passed Barnicoat into La Source only for the Briton to re-pass the New Zealander into Eau Rouge.

George Russell secured fifth for Hitech GP after making a pass on Harrison Newey at Les Combes, but the Van Amersfoort Racing driver still managed to secure his best result of the season in sixth.

Mücke Motorsport’s German teenager David Beckmann secured seventh despite tangling with team-mate Mikkel Jensen at La Source that saw the Dane retire from the race.

Ralf Aron finished eighth for Prema Powerteam, while Carlin duo Ryan Tveter and Alessio Lorandi completed the top ten.

Spa-Francorchamps Race 1 Result

[table id=1337 /]

12479 posts

About author
Thirty-something motorsport fanatic, covering Formula 1, Formula Renault 2.0 and Formula 3. Feel free to give him a follow on Twitter at @Paul11MSport.
Related posts
DTMEuropean Formula 3Formula European MastersGeneral Formula 3

Fenestraz Loses Renault Backing after Failing to Meet Top Three Target

1 Mins read
Sacha Fenestraz’s failure to finish inside the top three in the FIA European Formula 3 championship in 2018 has cost him his place in the Renault Sport Academy.
European Formula 3Season Review

Season Review: 2018 FIA European Formula 3 Championship - Schumacher's Title

7 Mins read
The Checkered Flag looks back at the 2018 FIA European Formula 3 Championship season, a year where the name of Schumacher once again became the one to beat in motor sport.
DTMEuropean Formula 3FIA World RallycrossGT World ChallengePorsche Mobil 1 Supercup

Andreas Bakkerud Heads Audi's Rookie Test Line-Up

1 Mins read
The World Rallycross Championship race winner is one of the six drivers called up by Audi for the end-of-season rookie testing.