Abt ends first test fastest

FIA Formula E Season 3 Testing - Day One. Donington Park Racecourse, Derby, United Kingdom. Tuesday 23 August 2016. Photo: Adam Warner / LAT / FE. ref: Digital Image _14P2151

Daniel Abt ended the first test on a high by setting the fastest time on the final day of the first Formula E test.

In a day interrupted by rain, Abt went a tenth faster than he managed yesterday which was good enough to top the session.

Behind him Nick Heidfeld made it a hat-trick of second places for Mahindra Racing, clocking a time just 22 hundredths slower than Abt.

Jean-Eric Vergne also continued his impressive form to grab third after putting his Techeetah top in yesterday’s standings.

It wasn’t such smooth running for Renault e.dams however. After a decent first couple of days Nico Prost had an off before setting the fourth fastest time, and Sebastien Buemi could only manage ninth.

Despite this the reigning champion was happy with how the test had gone as a whole.

“I feel positive after this week’s test as the car seems very promising,” Buemi said. “Not only have we been able to test our car, we’ve also been able to have a look at the opposition.

“Certainly I think we’ll have a tough challenge over the course of the season ahead so there should be some great racing.”

Last year’s runner-up Lucas di Grassi was behind Prost in fifth, with Dragon Racing’s Jerome d’Ambrosio in sixth.

And behind them there were some more encouraging signs from both Venturi and Andretti.

Despite not showing much pace over the first two days Antonio Felix da Costa came seventh, and after anchoring the bottom of the timesheets over the first two days Venturi ended up eighth with Maro Engel and eleventh with Stephane Sarrazin.

Further down Adam Carroll finally managed to outpace one of the drivers being lined-up to be his potential teammate.

After being outshone by Alex Lynn and Mitch Evans, the Northern Irishman managed to outpace Harry Tincknell by eight tenths, although both Jaguars were well down the order.


1Daniel AbtGERAbt Audi Schaeffler1:30.073
2Nick HeidfeldGERMahindra Racing1:30.095
3Jean-Eric VergneFRATecheetah1:30.234
4Nico ProstFRARenault e.dams1:30.237
5Lucas di GrassiBRAAbt Audi Schaeffler1:30.252
6Jerome d'AmbrosioBELDragon Racing1:30.553
7Antonio Felix da CostaPORAndretti1:30.769
8Maro EngelGERVenturi1:31.093
9Sebastien BuemiSUIRenault e.dams1:31.144
10Sam BirdGBRDS Virgin Racing1:31.177
11Stephane SarrazinFRAVenturi1:31.221
12Jose Maria LopezARGDS Virgin Racing1:31.447
13Adam CarrollGBRJaguar1:31.721
14Felix RosenqvistSWEMahindra Racing1:32.710
15Ma Qing HuaCHNTecheetah1.32.838
16Dean StonemanGBRNextEV TCR1:33.389
17Harry TincknellGBRJaguar1:33.927
18Robin FrijnsNEDAndretti1:39.067
19Loic DuvalFRADragon Racing1:40.114