European Formula 3

Top three rookies to be rewarded as part of new Euro F3 prize money scheme

1 Mins read
Anthoine Hubert, Joel Eriksson and Niko Kari - Credit: FIA Formula 3 European Championship / Thomas Suer

The three top rookies in the 2016 FIA European Formula 3 Championship will become the first recipients of prize money that will go towards a sophomore season in the championship.

The top rookie in the championship standings after the season finale at the Hockenheimring in October will receive 100,000 Euros, with 50,000 Euros going to both the second and third placed rookies.

Joel Eriksson currently leads the rookie standings after the most recent round at Spa-Francorchamps, while Anthoine Hubert and Ben Barnicoat are in close company, with Ralf Aron, Niko Kari and Guanyu Zhou all within sixty points of the top.

President of the FIA Single-Seater Commission, Stefano Domenicali, revealed that the rookie rewards are to benefit the stability of the championship, and also plans to expand the financial benefits to the main championships for both teams and drivers in 2017.

“The FIA considers the FIA F3 European Championship as the most suitable platform for drivers learning their way at this particular stage of the single-seater ladder,” said Domenicali.

“To prepare drivers in the most effective way for the next step on the ladder, we think it is normally best for a driver to remain in the series for at least two consecutive seasons.

“The newly introduced prize money is a reward for good results during a rookie season, but should at the same time encourage the drivers to stay for another year and gain further experience.

“It will also establish some financial assistance – something that we intend to expand to the team and driver championships next year.”

Related posts
DTMEuropean Formula 3Formula European MastersGeneral Formula 3

Fenestraz Loses Renault Backing after Failing to Meet Top Three Target

1 Mins read
Sacha Fenestraz’s failure to finish inside the top three in the FIA European Formula 3 championship in 2018 has cost him his place in the Renault Sport Academy.
European Formula 3Season Review

Season Review: 2018 FIA European Formula 3 Championship - Schumacher's Title

7 Mins read
The Checkered Flag looks back at the 2018 FIA European Formula 3 Championship season, a year where the name of Schumacher once again became the one to beat in motor sport.
DTMEuropean Formula 3FIA World RallycrossGT World Challenge Europe Endurance CupPorsche Mobil 1 Supercup

Andreas Bakkerud Heads Audi's Rookie Test Line-Up

1 Mins read
The World Rallycross Championship race winner is one of the six drivers called up by Audi for the end-of-season rookie testing.

Leave a Reply