Günther denies Stroll clean sweep at the Nurburgring

Maximilian Günther - Credit: FIA Formula 3 European Championship

Maximilian Günther secured his fourth victory of the 2016 season to deny Prema Powerteam team-mate Lance Stroll a clean sweep of victories at the Nurburgring on Sunday morning.

Günther retained the lead at the start having started from pole position, and unlike during Saturday’s second race, was able to keep Stroll behind him, and ultimately pulled away in the closing laps to win by 3.025 seconds.

Niko Kari made a great start to move into third in his Red Bull-liveried Motopark machine, a position he was never under threat for thereafter, and even was able to stay with the two leaders ahead of him, ultimately finishing just 0.942 seconds behind Stroll.

Likewise making a good start and gaining ground was Callum Ilott, who made a good move around the outside of Nick Cassidy stick at turn three, with the Van Amersfoort Racing driver thereafter having a quiet race to fourth.

Cassidy secured fifth for Prema Powerteam ahead of a slow starting Joel Eriksson of Motopark, who dropped from third on the grid to sixth at the start, while George Russell tailed the Swedish driver throughout to take seventh for Hitech GP.

Whereas the top seven was pretty processional, the battle for the lower points positions was far from boring, with Sergio Sette Câmara climbing from the back of the grid to claim eighth for Motopark ahead of Anthoine Hubert of Van Amersfoort Racing and Ben Barnicoat of Hitech GP.

Ralf Aron was running eighth for a long spell of time, but first out lost out to Hubert and Sette Câmara before a clash with Harrison Newey at turn one allowed Barnicoat to pass both drivers. Aron ultimately found himself finishing down in fourteenth behind Newey, Guanyu Zhou and David Beckmann.

Nurburgring Race 3 Result

117Maximilian GuntherGERPrema Powerteam35:37.136
21Lance StrollCANPrema Powerteam+3.025
310Niko KariFINMotopark+3.967
46Callum IlottGBRVan Amersfoort Racing+8.730
52Nick CassidyNZLPrema Powerteam+11.353
622Joel ErikssonSWEMotopark+17.647
712George RussellGBRHitech GP+18.432
89Sergio Sette CamaraBRZMotopark+22.968
921Anthoine HubertFRAVan Amersfoort Racing+24.876
1024Ben BarnicoatGBRHitech GP+25.483
1120Harrison NeweyGBRVan Amersfoort Racing+27.814
1223Guanyu ZhouCHNMotopark+29.185
138David BeckmannGERMucke Motorsport+29.661
1416Ralf AronESTPrema Powerteam+31.238
155Pedro PiquetBRZVan Amersfoort Racing+31.643
1611Nikita MazepinRUSHitech GP+35.267
177Mikkel JensenDENMucke Motorsport+35.994