Formula E

McLaren Applied Technologies win Formula E battery tender

1 Mins read

McLaren Applied Technologies have won the tender to supply batteries for the Formula E championship for seasons five and six.

The announcement means they will take over from Williams Advanced Engineering for 2018/19 and 2019/20.

They had to beat off stiff competition to win the contract, with Williams Advanced Engineering, Porsche, Mahindra, Panasonic, Renault and DS all believed to have entered bids.

The contract is seen as a significant one for the future of the series, as it is due to coincide with drivers using just one car per race.

Commenting on the announcement, Motorsport Director of McLaren Applied Technologies, Rodi Basso said, “We’re delighted McLaren has been chosen by the FIA to be the sole supplier of batteries to Formula E from 2018 to 2020.

“Our new battery will almost double the energy storage, eliminating the need for drivers to swap cars during a race.

“As well as providing a global showcase for our sustainable technologies, this win provides another example of McLaren Applied Technologies’ vision to work closely with series partners to do our bit to help make the fan experience quicker and slicker.”

Formula E CEO Alejandro Agag welcomed the development seen already in battery technology, and predicted even greater gains from 2020 onwards.

He said, “I am absolutely delighted that a company with such a reputation for engineering excellence and expertise like McLaren Applied Technologies will be producing the new battery.

“Over just four seasons, Formula E will have inspired a 100 per cent increase in range – a phenomenal achievement.”

“We will continue to push the boundaries of electric car technology and we can expect even greater gains to be possible when the third generation of batteries arrive for season seven.”

Related posts
Formula E

Lynn keeps seat at Mahindra for 2020-21

2 Mins read
Alex Lynn is kept on at Mahindra Racing after filling in at the end of last season
Formula E

Saudi Arabia to host first ever Formula E night race

1 Mins read
The Diriyah ePrix in February will become the first Formula E race to be held at night
Formula E

Blomqvist joins Turvey at NIO 333

2 Mins read
Tom Blomqvist returns to Formula E as NIO 333 choose him to partner Oliver Turvey

Leave a Reply