Sette Câmara fastest, Stroll on pole at the Nurburgring

Sérgio Sette Câmara - Credit: FIA Formula 3 European Championship

Sergio Sette Câmara was quickest in the opening qualifying session at the Nurburgring, but Lance Stroll will start the race from pole position due to an engine penalty carried over for the young Brazilian.

Sette Câmara set a best time of 1:21.011 during the first of two scheduled qualifying sessions on Friday that will determine the grids for all three races this weekend at the German track, but for the first two of those races, the Red Bull-backed Motopark driver will lose ten places on the grid due to an engine change at Spa-Francorchamps last time out.

This means that championship leader Stroll inherits top spot for race one despite his lap being 0.207 seconds slower than Sette Câmara’s, while Nick Cassidy will make it an all Prema Powerteam front row.

Maximilian Günther will line-up third, also for Prema Powerteam, with George Russell fourth for Hitech GP ahead of Joel Eriksson of Motopark, while Ralf Aron will start sixth in the fourth of the four Prema entries.

Callum Ilott will be disappointed to be starting seventh after setting the pace in first practice on Friday morning, with the Van Amersfoort Racing driver set to start alongside Motopark’s Guanyu Zhou, while Niko Kari of Motopark and Anthoine Hubert of Van Amersfoort Racing will complete the top ten, ahead of Sette Câmara.

Only seventeen cars are on the grid this weekend following the withdrawal of Carlin, but all seventeen were covered by less than one second in another close European Formula 3 Championship qualifying session.

Nurburgring Race 1 Qualifying Result

19Sergio Sette CamaraBRZMotopark1:21.011
21Lance StrollCANPrema Powerteam1:21.218
32Nick CassidyNZLPrema Powerteam1:21.353
417Maximilian GuntherGERPrema Powerteam1:21.393
512George RussellGBRHitech GP1:21.423
622Joel ErikssonSWEMotopark1:21.466
716Ralf AronESTPrema Powerteam1:21.494
86Callum IlottGBRVan Amersfoort Racing1:21.505
923Guanyu ZhouCHNMotopark1:21.542
1010Niko KariFINMotopark1:21.548
1121Anthoine HubertFRAVan Amersfoort Racing1:21.590
128David BeckmannGERMucke Motorsport1:21.744
1324Ben BarnicoatGBRHitech GP1:21.746
1411Nikita MazepinRUSHitech GP1:21.764
157Mikkel JensenDENMucke Motorsport1:21.775
165Pedro PiquetBRZVan Amersfoort Racing1:21.852
1720Harrison NeweyGBRVan Amersfoort Racing1:21.987