European Formula 3

Eriksson and Stroll share Imola pole positions

1 Mins read
Joel Eriksson - Credit: FIA Formula 3 European Championship

Sergio Sette Câmara set the best time in the second qualifying session at Imola but for the second time in 2016 will not be able to take up the position at the front of the grid, with the young Brazilian taking grid penalties for both races two and three due to an engine change.

As a result the Motopark driver will drop to eleventh for Sunday’s second race of the weekend, and fifteenth for race three as his second best lap in the qualifying session was good enough to put him fifth.

Inheriting the pole position for Sunday’s second race will be Sette Câmara’s team-mate Joel Eriksson, with the Swede being joined on the front row by championship leader Lance Stroll, who is in prime position to clinch the title on Sunday as he will start race three from pole position.

George Russell will start third in race two for Hitech GP ahead of fellow Briton Callum Ilott of Van Amersfoort Racing, while row three will see Prema Powerteam duo Maximilian Günther and Ralf Aron.

Günther in particular will be looking to put the disappointments of Friday and Saturday behind him on Sunday, and needs to reduce the gap to team-mate Stroll in the championship to less than seventy-five points to deny the Canadian the title this weekend and take the fight to the final round at Hockenheim.

Ben Barnicoat will start eighth for Hitech GP alongside Van Amersfoort Racing’s Anthoine Hubert, while Nick Cassidy of Prema Powerteam will start ninth ahead of Pedro Piquet in another Van Amersfoort Racing entry.

Stroll’s second legal fastest time of 1:36.457 was enough to take him to pole for race three, although he did have another lap quicker but was deleted due to exceeding track limits, while he will be joined on the front row by Ilott, who got the better of Russell on this occasion.

Günther will start fourth ahead of Eriksson, Aron, Barnicoat, Hubert, Mikkel Jensen and Piquet.

Race one winner Niko Kari endured a tougher qualifying session on Saturday after engine troubles on his Motopark machine made it impossible to get inside the top ten for either race, and will start sixteenth in race two and fourteenth in race three.

Imola Race 2 Qualifying Result

[table id=1546 /]

Imola Race 3 Qualifying Result

[table id=1547 /]

Related posts
DTMEuropean Formula 3Formula European MastersGeneral Formula 3

Fenestraz Loses Renault Backing after Failing to Meet Top Three Target

1 Mins read
Sacha Fenestraz’s failure to finish inside the top three in the FIA European Formula 3 championship in 2018 has cost him his place in the Renault Sport Academy.
European Formula 3Season Review

Season Review: 2018 FIA European Formula 3 Championship - Schumacher's Title

7 Mins read
The Checkered Flag looks back at the 2018 FIA European Formula 3 Championship season, a year where the name of Schumacher once again became the one to beat in motor sport.
DTMEuropean Formula 3FIA World RallycrossGT World Challenge Europe Endurance CupPorsche Mobil 1 Supercup

Andreas Bakkerud Heads Audi's Rookie Test Line-Up

1 Mins read
The World Rallycross Championship race winner is one of the six drivers called up by Audi for the end-of-season rookie testing.

Leave a Reply