Rosenqvist leads impressive Macau Grand Prix entry list

Felix Rosenqvist & Daniel Juncadella will both race at Macau - Credit: DTM Series

Two-time Macau Grand Prix winner Felix Rosenqvist heads an impressive entry list for this year’s event, with the Swede aiming to make history by becoming the first ever three-time winner around the streets of Macau.

Twenty-six drivers have currently been confirmed to compete with four yet to be finalised, and Rosenqvist rejoins the SJM Theodore Racing by Prema outfit that took him to victory in 2015, where he’ll be joined by 2016 Prema Powerteam FIA European Formula 3 Championship regulars Maximilian Günther and Nick Cassidy.

The European Formula 3 Championship has thirteen representatives in the field at present, with both Motopark and Van Amersfoort Racing lining up with a trio of drivers, the former with Joel Eriksson, Niko Kari and Guanyu Zhou, and the latter with Callum Ilott, Anthoine Hubert and Pedro Piquet.

Hitech GP will field George Russell and Nikita Mazepin from their Euro F3 line-up, but Ben Barnicoat will not make the trip, with the Briton being replaced in the team by DTM star Daniel Juncadella.

Perhaps one of the standout names on the entry list is at Carlin, with the highly rated Lando Norris joining Jake Hughes and a returning Zhi Cong Li in the outfit. For Li, it is a welcome return to racing after his horror crash in Austria earlier this season that saw him miss the remainder of the European F3 season as a result.

Mücke Motorsport have only announced David Beckmann so far but are expected to run with three cars at the event, while Alexander Sims makes a return to the race once more for Double R Racing, with his team-mate also yet to be confirmed, although Dan Ticktum is rumoured to be lining up alongside his fellow Briton.

Wing Chung Chang continues with his end of season alignment with ThreeBond with T-Sport, and will be joined in the line-up by All-Japan Formula 3 champion Kenta Yamashita, while Fortec Motorsports make a welcome return to Formula 3 with a driver line-up of Sam MacLeod and Ferdinand Habsburg.

The Japanese Formula 3 field also provide a number of drivers, including former GP3 Series star Jann Mardenborough who joins Daiki Sasaki and Hongli Ye in a three-car line-up for the B-Max Racing Team, while Team TOM’s and Toda Racing both field a single car for Sho Tsuboi and Tadasuke Makino respectively.

As well as Ticktum, both Ralf Aron and Alessio Lorandi are expected to be added to the line-up for the event, which this year has taken up the mantle of the FIA F3 World Cup.

The most notable absentee from the list is that of Lance Stroll, the recently crowned FIA European Formula 3 Champion, who will not compete due to other commitments that weekend.