Shock pole for Rosenqvist in Marrakesh

| Photographer: Dan Bathie| Event: Hong Kong ePrix| Circuit: Hong Kong| Location: Hong Kong| Series: FIA Formula E| Season: 2016-2017| Country: HK| |Driver: Felix Rosenqvist| Team: Mahindra Racing| Number: 19| Car: M3 Electro|

Felix Rosenqvist grabbed a surprise pole position for Mahindra Racing in Marrakesh.

In just his second race in Formula E the Swede beat Sebastien Buemi by just thirty-seven thousandths of a second.

Speaking afterwards he said, “It’s absolutely fantastic. We knew in Hong Kong we were quick, but we took it to the next step here.

“The car has been really good all day and a big thanks go to the team. It’s not going to be an easy race but I’m just going to do what I can do.”

Sam Bird was in third place, with Nelson Piquet Jr fourth having made a mistake on his lap in the super-pole shootout.

It was even worse for Jean-Eric Vergne however after his Techeetah team sent him out too late, meaning that he didn’t cross the line in time to start a lap.

It means he’ll start fifth despite having gone fastest in the group sessions beforehand.

Daniel Abt lines up in sixth, but having shown promising pace in practice his Abt Schaeffler Audi team-mate Lucas di Grassi only managed twelvth.

Nico Prost lines up in seventh, and Oliver Turvey eighth in what was another strong qualifying showing from NextEV TCR.

Robin Frins and Antonio Felix da Costa then complete the top ten with an all Andretti row five.

Further down the grid it was a disappointing session for FF Dragon Racing, as they could only go seventeenth fastest with Jerome d’Ambrosio and nineteenth fastest with Loic Duval.

Adam Carroll lines up last for Panasonic Jaguar Racing having spun on his qualifying lap.


1Felix RosenqvistSWEMahindra Racing1m21.509
2Sebastien BuemiSUIRenault e.dams1m21.546
3Sam BirdGBRDS Virgin Racing1m21.686
4Nelson Piquet JrBRANextEV TCR1m23.879
5Jean-Eric VergneFRATecheetahNo time
6Daniel AbtGERAbt Schaeffler Audi1m21.725
7Nico ProstFRARenault e.dams1m21,777
8Oliver TurveyGBRNextEV TCR1m21.853
9Robin FrijnsNEDAndretti1m21.912
10Antonio Felix da CostaPORAndretti1m22.073
11Nick HeidfeldGERMahindra Racing1m22.074
12Lucas di GrassiBRAAbt Schaeffler Audi1m22.081
13Jose Maria LopezARGDS Virgin Racing1m22.133
14Maro EngelGERVenturi1m22.236
15Stephane SarrazinFRAVenturi1m22.270
16Mitch EvansNZLPanasonic Jaguar Racing1m22.355
17Jerome d'AmbrosioBELFF Dragon Racing1m22.681
18Ma Qing HuaCHNTecheetah1m23.248
19Loic DuvalFRAFF Dragon Racing1m23.933
20Adam CarrollGBRPanasonic Jaguar Racing1m25.695