BMW confirms 2016 DTM line up

Nuerburgring (DE) 10th September 2016. BMW Motorsport, Race 13, Martin Wittmann (DE) Red Bull BMW M4 DTM and Tom Blomqvist (GB) Ice- Watch BMW M4 DTM.

As is now tradition BMW Motorsport used its Season Review in Munich to announce the driver set up for the 2017 DTM Series. 

Six works drivers will take to track in the new BMW M4 DTM which is currently undergoing intensive testing and development programme in preparation for the planned 18 race season.

Reigning champion Marco Wittmann is to head the selection as the German vies for his third DTM crown. The champion will be remaining at Team RMG and will be joined by Timo Glock and Augusto Farfus, helmed by Stefan Reinhold.

Bart Mampaey, team principal of Team RBM, will be responsible for Tom BlomqvistMaxime Martin and Bruno Spengler.

The six BMW drivers have racked up a total of 399 starts, recording 32 wins and 34 pole positions.

BMW Motorsport Director Jens Marquardt commented: “Our driver selection for 2017 once again includes some of the best the DTM has to offer.

Of course, everyone will be chasing champion Marco Wittmann. But our five other drivers have all claimed wins and proved their quality in the DTM.

“This consistency in the cockpit will do us good. Experience is extremely important in the DTM.”

Former Team Schnitzer drivers Martin Tomczyk and Antonio Felix da Costa along with Alexander Sims will be on working on BMW’s entry to the FIA World Endurance Championship for 2018. Team MTEK will spend the coming season on a comprehensive test and preparation programme ahead of this.