Brits shine in Monza Practice as Norris and Ilott lead the way

Callum Ilott set the pace during free practice at Monza - Credit: FIA Formula 3 European Championship

Lando Norris was fastest in the opening free practice session of the weekend at the Autodromo Nazionale Monza on Friday, but it was his fellow Briton Callum Ilott who set the fastest time overall in the second session.

After drivers were faced with rain and wet conditions during Wednesday’s test day at the circuit, sunny conditions greeted them on Friday, and Norris set an initial best time of 1:45.463s for Carlin, with championship leader Joel Eriksson second for Motopark, just 0.112 seconds behind.

Ilott was third fastest for Prema Powerteam, a further 0.005 seconds back, while Ferdinand Habsburg and Jehan Daruvala were fourth and sixth for Carlin, either side of Prema’s Maximilian Günther.

Nikita Mazepin was seventh for Hitech Grand Prix ahead of Van Amersfoort Racing duo Harrison Newey and David Beckmann, while Mick Schumacher completed the top ten for Prema.

The second session saw Ilott hit the front with a time of 1:44.261s as he led a Prema 1-2 ahead of Günther, while Daruvala and Norris were third and fourth for Carlin ahead of Mazepin and Eriksson.

Jake Dennis was seventh for Carlin ahead of Newey, while Motopark’s Marino Sato and Hitech Grand Prix’s Ralf Aron rounded out the top ten, with the top seventeen drivers all within one second of Ilott.

Autodromo Nazionale Monza Free Practice 1 Result

131Lando NorrisGBRCarlin1:45.463
21Joel ErikssonSWEMotopark1:45.575
353Callum IlottGBRPrema Powerteam1:45.580
462Ferdinand HabsburgAUTCarlin1:45.631
53Maximilian GuntherGERPrema Powerteam1:45.867
627Jehan DaruvalaINDCarlin1:45.880
799Nikita MazepinRUSHitech Grand Prix1:45.918
817Harrison NeweyGBRVan Amersfoort Racing1:45.932
955David BeckmannGERVan Amersfoort Racing1:46.101
1025Mick SchumacherGERPrema Powerteam1:46.156
1196Joey MawsonAUSVan Amersfoort Racing1:46.157
125Pedro PiquetBRZVan Amersfoort Racing1:46.217
1311Tadasuke MakinoJAPHitech Grand Prix1:46.283
1433Marino SatoJAPMotopark1:46.353
1521Jake DennisGBRCarlin1:46.374
167Ralf AronESTHitech Grand Prix1:46.455
178Guan Yu ZhouCHNPrema Powerteam1:46.479
1834Jake HughesGBRHitech Grand Prix1:46.512
1947Keyvan Andres SooriGERMotopark1:46.680

Autodromo Nazionale Monza Free Practice 2 Result

153Callum IlottGBRPrema Powerteam1:44.261
23Maximilian GuntherGERPrema Powerteam1:44.355
327Jehan DaruvalaINDCarlin1:44.492
431Lando NorrisGBRCarlin1:44.508
599Nikita MazepinRUSHitech Grand Prix1:44.599
61Joel ErikssonSWEMotopark1:44.678
721Jake DennisGBRCarlin1:44.698
817Harrison NeweyGBRVan Amersfoort Racing1:44.701
933Marino SatoJAPMotopark1:44.759
107Ralf AronESTHitech Grand Prix1:44.835
1134Jake HughesGBRHitech Grand Prix1:44.870
1262Ferdinand HabsburgAUTCarlin1:44.982
1396Joey MawsonAUSVan Amersfoort Racing1:45.043
1411Tadasuke MakinoJAPHitech Grand Prix1:45.134
155Pedro PiquetBRZVan Amersfoort Racing1:45.193
168Guan Yu ZhouCHNPrema Powerteam1:45.207
1725Mick SchumacherGERPrema Powerteam1:45.244
1847Keyvan Andres SooriGERMotopark1:45.572
1955David BeckmannGERVan Amersfoort Racing1:45.700