Daruvala grabs maiden F3 pole as Carlin dominate at Monza

Jehan Daruvala took pole position for race one at Monza - Credit: FIA Formula 3 European Championship

Jehan Daruvala secured his maiden FIA European Formula 3 Championship pole position as he headed a Carlin Motorsport 1-2-3 in qualifying for race one at the Autodromo Nazionale Monza on Friday.

It was nearly a perfect qualifying session for Carlin, with only Callum Ilott denying the team a lock out of the top four places, with Daruvala leading team-mates Lando Norris and Jake Dennis at the front, while Ferdinand Habsburg was fifth.

Force India protégé Daruvala set a best time of 1:44.105 to take the pole, 0.030 seconds clear of Norris, while Dennis was 0.097 seconds down in third as Carlin showed a strong hand during qualifying.

Ilott set a time of 1:44.370 to place fourth for Prema Powerteam, just ahead of Habsburg, while championship leader Joel Eriksson qualified sixth for Motopark, with the Swedish driver having his first taste of Monza this weekend.

Prema Powerteam duo Guan Yu Zhou and Mick Schumacher will start seventh and ninth respectively, either side of the leading Hitech Grand Prix entry of Jake Hughes, while Joey Mawson completed the top ten for Van Amersfoort Racing ahead of Nikita Mazepin and Marino Sato.

The session was halted briefly when Harrison Newey spun his Van Amersfoort Racing machine, leaving the Briton down at the back of the field, while the intervention compromised the runs of some drivers, with Maximilian Günther particularly out of position in fourteenth.

Autodromo Nazionale Monza Race 1 Qualifying Result

127Jehan DaruvalaINDCarlin1:44.105
231Lando NorrisGBRCarlin1:44.135
321Jake DennisGBRCarlin1:44.202
453Callum IlottGBRPrema Powerteam1:44.370
562Ferdinand HabsburgAUTCarlin1:44.552
61Joel ErikssonSWEMotopark1:44.554
78Guan Yu ZhouCHNPrema Powerteam1:44.694
834Jake HughesGBRHitech Grand Prix1:44.922
925Mick SchumacherGERPrema Powerteam1:44.925
1096Joey MawsonAUSVan Amersfoort Racing1:44.996
1199Nikita MazepinRUSHitech Grand Prix1:45.006
1233Marino SatoJAPMotopark1:45.164
135Pedro PiquetBRZVan Amersfoort Racing1:45.168
143Maximilian GuntherGERPrema Powerteam1:45.304
1547Keyvan Andres SooriGERMotopark1:45.456
1611Tadasuke MakinoJAPHitech Grand Prix1:45.570
177Ralf AronESTHitech Grand Prix1:45.797
1855David BeckmannGERVan Amersfoort Racing1:45.894
1917Harrison NeweyGBRVan Amersfoort Racing1:57.543