Heidfeld blames Prost for end of race crash

Credit: Formula E

Nick Heidfeld has criticised Renault e.dams for claiming that their driver Nico Prost wasn’t to blame for the crash that ended the German’s race.

Prost made contact with the rear of Heidfeld’s Mahindra Racing car going into the stadium section on the last lap of the Mexico City ePrix.

It pitched the German into a spin which resulted in him collecting his team-mate Felix Rosenqvist, and taking the Mahindras out of the points after they had both been running in the top ten.

Despite Prost clearly making contact with Heidfeld, a press release from Renault claimed that the crash had been caused by Rosenqvist and Heidfeld colliding, and that Prost had been blameless.

Heidfeld was quick to point out the discrepancy on social media, using the hashtag #alternativetruth.


Until the incident Heidfeld had been running well, managing to hold third place in the first half of the race.

He was hindered at his pitstop however as the MS Amlin Andretti cars were released early and delayed Heidfeld getting away.

It led to him dropping behind Jean-Eric Vergne and Sam Bird, in addition to both Andretti cars.

Speaking about his race afterwards, Heidfeld said, “The problems started in the pit stops with the Andretti team not realising the minimum pit stop time.

“In Formula E, the car in the fast lane has priority and this allowed Sam Bird to jump me. Then, even though I had more pace and more energy, I wasn’t able to overtake.

“Prost spun me quite hard, and I was stationary in the middle of the circuit. Luckily I was unhurt, but the car was damaged and near un-driveable.

“But I was able to keep going to finish the race. It’s not what you wish for when you pit in second place and it was just bad luck that the others messed up.”

For his part Prost said that Heidfeld didn’t leave him any room, saying, “I understand why because there was some small contact made but I don’t think I’m responsible for it.

“I really tried to avoid it, I was on the curves but Nick didn’t leave me much space, so he really closed the door.”

The result meant that Mahindra dropped behind both Techeetah and DS Virgin Racing in the team’s championship.

Driver’s Championship

1Sebastien BuemiSUIRenault e.dams76
2Lucas di GrassiBRAAbt Schaeffler Audi71
3Nico ProstFRARenault e.dams46
4Jean-Eric VergneFRATecheetah40
5Sam BirdGBRDS Virgin Racing33
6Felix RosenqvistSWEMahindra Racing20
7Daniel AbtGERAbt Schaeffler Audi20
8Nick HeidfeldGERMahindra Racing17
9Nelson Piquet JrBRANextEV TIO15
10Oliver TurveyGBRNextEV TIO15
11Mitch EvansNZLPanasonic Jaguar Racing12
12Antonio Felix da CostaPORAndretti10
13Jose Maria LopezARGDS Virgin Racing10
14Jerome d'AmbrosioBELFF Dragon Racing10
15Loic DuvalFRAFF Dragon Racing9
16Robin FrijnsNEDAndretti8
17Adam CarrollGBRPanasonic Jaguar Racing4
18Maro EngelGERVenturi2
19Stephane SarrazinFRAVenturi1
20Esteban GutierrezMEXTecheetah1

Team’s Championship

1Renault e.damsFRA122
2Abt Schaeffler AudiGER91
3DS Virgin RacingGBR43
5Mahindra RacingIND37
7FF Dragon RacingUSA19
8MS Amlin AndrettiUSA18
9Panasonic Jaguar RacingGBR16