Lando Norris fastest in wet test sessions at Monza

Lando Norris was fastest during Monza testing - Credit: FIA Formula 3 European Championship / Thomas Suer

Lando Norris headed the field on Wednesday’s test at the Autodromo Nazionale Monza although conditions were not favourable for drivers to prepare themselves for this weekend’s second round of the season at the Italian track.

A wet track and rain compromised everyone, which for those coming to the track for the first time meant they were not able to learn as much about the circuit as they would have liked.

Norris, the winner of race one at the opening round of the season at Silverstone two weeks ago, was fastest in both the morning and afternoon sessions for Carlin, with the time in the second session of 1:58.828s being the fastest overall as conditions briefly improved.

Honda-protégé Tadasuke Makino impressed by setting the second fastest time in both sessions, with the Japanese Hitech Grand Prix driver 0.221 seconds down on Norris’ best, while Maximilian Günther was third in the leading Prema Powerteam entry.

Callum Ilott, winner of race three at Silverstone, was fourth fastest in the afternoon for Prema ahead of fellow Briton Jake Dennis of Carlin, while Ralf Aron of Hitech Grand Prix was sixth.

Jehan Daruvala placed seventh for Carlin ahead of Van Amersfoort Racing’s Pedro Piquet, while Ferdinand Habsburg and Guan Yu Zhou completed the top ten.

The morning session had seen the same top three of Norris, Makino and Günther, while championship leader Joel Eriksson was fourth for Motopark on his first visit to the circuit. He finished ahead of Ilott, Habsburg and Daruvala, while Harrison Newey, Dennis and Nikita Mazepin rounded out the top ten.

There were two red flags during the afternoon, one to recover Mazepin’s car after the Russian stopped on track, while the second was to clear up a crash for David Beckmann.

Autodromo Nazionale Monza Test Day Combined Results

131Lando NorrisGBRCarlin2:01.5031:58.828
211Tadasuke MakinoJAPHitech Grand Prix2:01.8941:59.049
33Maximilian GuntherGERPrema Powerteam2:01.9331:59.471
453Callum IlottGBRPrema Powerteam2:02.2381:59.492
521Jake DennisGBRCarlin2:02.6251:59.553
67Ralf AronESTHitech Grand Prix2:02.7881:59.604
727Jehan DaruvalaINDCarlin2:02.6141:59.721
85Pedro PiquetBRZVan Amersfoort Racing2:03.0001:59.726
962Ferdinand HabsburgAUTCarlin2:02.5021:59.902
108Guan Yu ZhouCHNPrema Powerteam2:03.3461:59.969
1196Joey MawsonAUSVan Amersfoort Racing2:03.3442:00.072
1234Jake HughesGBRHitech Grand Prix2:03.4052:00.097
1399Nikita MazepinRUSHitech Grand Prix2:02.6912:00.332
1455David BeckmannGERVan Amersfoort Racing2:04.3602:00.348
1533Marino SatoJAPMotopark2:05.1872:00.610
161Joel ErikssonSWEMotopark2:02.1882:00.612
1725Mick SchumacherGERPrema Powerteam2:03.2692:01.024
1817Harrison NeweyGBRVan Amersfoort Racing2:02.6192:01.166
1947Keyvan Andres SooriGERMotopark2:04.5402:02.411