Brits lead the way as Ilott paces free practice at Pau

Callum Ilott was fastest in free practice at Pau - Credit: FIA Formula 3 European Championship

Callum Ilott led a quartet of British drivers to head free practice around the streets of Pau on Friday, with the Prema Powerteam driver edging out Jake Dennis by just 0.005 seconds.

Round three of the 2017 FIA European Formula 3 Championship takes place around the legendary street circuit, and Ilott, twice a winner already this season, set the pace with a best time of 1:10.914s.

Dennis, racing in what is likely to be his last event of the Formula 3 season before he turns his attention back to his Blancpain GT campaign, was second fastest for Carlin, while his team-mate Lando Norris was third ahead of Jake Hughes of Hitech Grand Prix, making it four Brits at the very top of the timing screens.

Joey Mawson was fifth for Van Amersfoort Racing, but his team-mates all struggled, David Beckmann, Pedro Piquet and Harrison Newey down between sixteenth and eighteenth, ahead only of the struggling Marino Sato.

Nikita Mazepin was sixth fastest for Hitech Grand Prix ahead of Carlin’s Ferdinand Habsburg, while Prema Powerteam rounded out the top ten, Maximilian Günther ahead of Guan Yu Zhou and Mick Schumacher.

Championship leader Joel Eriksson was twelfth for Motopark, just behind Hitech Grand Prix’s Ralf Aron.

Qualifying for race one takes place later this afternoon, with racing getting underway on Saturday.

Pau Free Practice Combined Results

153Callum IlottGBRPrema Powerteam1:10.914
221Jake DennisGBRCarlin1:10.919
331Lando NorrisGBRCarlin1:11.015
434Jake HughesGBRHitech Grand Prix1:11.299
596Joey MawsonAUSVan Amersfoort Racing1:11.465
699Nikita MazepinRUSHitech Grand Prix1:12.049
762Ferdinand HabsburgAUTCarlin1:12.111
83Maximilian GuntherGERPrema Powerteam1:12.135
98Guan Yu ZhouCHNPrema Powerteam1:12.160
1025Mick SchumacherGERPrema Powerteam1:12.438
117Ralf AronESTHitech Grand Prix1:12.624
121Joel ErikssonSWEMotopark1:12.640
1311Tadasuke MakinoJAPHitech Grand Prix1:12.702
1427Jehan DaruvalaINDCarlin1:12.747
1547Keyvan Andres SooriGERMotopark1:12.760
1655David BeckmannGERVan Amersfoort Racing1:13.345
175Pedro PiquetBRZVan Amersfoort Racing1:13.637
1817Harrison NeweyGBRVan Amersfoort Racing1:13.649
1933Marino SatoJAPMotopark1:22.462