Günther jumps Norris to take first victory of 2017

Maximilian Günther took his first victory of 2017 at Pau on Sunday - Credit: FIA Formula 3 European Championship

Maximilian Günther took his first victory of the FIA European Formula 3 Championship season as he got the jump on polesitter Lando Norris into turn one of race two at Pau and was never headed thereafter.

Last season’s championship runner-up secured the points with a great defensive display early on to deny Norris, before pulling away to win by 1.953 seconds, with Günther moving back into championship contention as a result.

Carlin’s Norris had one opportunity to pass the Prema Powerteam driver but could not make the move around the outside of the Pont Oscar hairpin stick, but his runners-up spot moves him to the top of the championship standings as Joel Eriksson crashed out whilst running fourth.

Callum Ilott was the only other driver to be able to stick relatively close to Günther and Norris at the front, with the British racer completing the podium for Prema Powerteam.

Eriksson was keeping tabs with Ilott but the Swede crashed his Motopark machine at the Foch chicane, losing him the twelve points he was on for and the championship lead to Norris.

Harrison Newey inherited fourth place as a result for Van Amersfoort Racing, with the British racer having jumped from seventh on the grid to run fifth at the start, while he was forced to defend until the chequered flag from Hitech Grand Prix duo Ralf Aron and Jake Hughes.

Nikita Mazepin was seventh, also for Hitech Grand Prix, while Carlin drivers filled the remaining places inside the top ten, Ferdinand Habsburg ahead of Jehan Daruvala and Jake Dennis.

Pau Race 2 Result

13Maximilian GuntherGERPrema Powerteam34:14.016s
231Lando NorrisGBRCarlin+1.953s
353Callum IlottGBRPrema Powerteam+5.287s
417Harrison NeweyGBRVan Amersfoort Racing+11.883s
57Ralf AronESTHitech Grand Prix+12.596s
634Jake HughesGBRHitech Grand Prix+13.411s
799Nikita MazepinRUSHitech Grand Prix+15.873s
862Ferdinand HabsburgAUTCarlin+17.371s
927Jehan DaruvalaINDCarlin+18.009s
1021Jake DennisGBRCarlin+20.084s
1125Mick SchumacherGERPrema Powerteam+24.765s
1211Tadasuke MakinoJAPHitech Grand Prix+26.788s
135Pedro PiquetBRZVan Amersfoort Racing+27.824s
1455David BeckmannGERVan Amersfoort Racing+28.920s
1547Keyvan Andres SooriGERMotopark+1:06.150s
16/RET96Joey MawsonAUSVan Amersfoort Racing+3 Laps
RET1Joel ErikssonSWEMotoparkRetired
RET8Guan Yu ZhouCHNPrema PowerteamRetired
RET33Marino SatoJAPMotoparkRetired