Günther takes Pau Grand Prix honours as Norris Crashes out

Maximilian Gunther took victory in the Pau Grand Prix - Credit: FIA Formula 3 European Championship / Thomas Suer

Maximilian Günther secured his second victory of the day to win the Pau Grand Prix after long time leader Lando Norris crashed out.

After triumphing in the morning’s second race of the weekend, Günther moved firmly into championship contention with this victory, which came as Norris crashed out whilst comfortably leading. He becomes the first German to win the Pau Grand Prix since Marco Wittmann in 2011.

Günther eventually won by 1.952 seconds from Callum Ilott, who made it a Prema Powerteam 1-2, while Ralf Aron, a former Prema driver himself, claimed his first podium finish of the season for Hitech Grand Prix. The Estonian has had a strong weekend at the French circuit, and shadowed Ilott until the chequered flag.

Harrison Newey finished a strong fourth for Van Amersfoort Racing, while Joel Eriksson recovered from his race two retirement to claim fifth for Motopark, finishing on Newey’s tail but just ahead of Ferdinand Habsburg, who after Norris’ retirement was the leading Carlin finisher in sixth.

Tadasuke Makino secured his first points of the season with a good drive to seventh for Hitech Grand Prix, with Pedro Piquet finished on his tail for Van Amersfoort Racing, with Jake Dennis following home in ninth in what is likely to be his final race in European Formula 3.

Guan Yu Zhou claimed the final point of the weekend with tenth place for Prema Powerteam, ahead of the leading rookie Jehan Daruvala, with Mick Schumacher twelfth ahead of Marino Sato.

As well as Norris, Nikita Mazepin retired whilst running inside the points, while Keyvan Andres Soori, Joey Mawson, Jake Hughes and David Beckmann all failed to see the chequered flag through various incidents.

With Eriksson claiming ten points for fifth place, Norris and Eriksson now share top spot in the championship, with Günther only two points further back.

Pau Grand Prix Race Result

13Maximilian GuntherGERPrema Powerteam28 Laps
253Callum IlottGBRPrema Powerteam+1.952s
37Ralf AronESTHitech Grand Prix+3.237s
417Harrison NeweyGBRVan Amersfoort Racing+6.786s
51Joel ErikssonSWEMotopark+8.386s
662Ferdinand HabsburgAUTCarlin+9.395s
711Tadasuke MakinoJAPHitech Grand Prix+11.453s
85Pedro PiquetBRZVan Amersfoort Racing+11.979s
921Jake DennisGBRCarlin+12.272s
108Guan Yu ZhouCHNPrema Powerteam+17.826s
1127Jehan DaruvalaINDCarlin+20.756s
1225Mick SchumacherGERPrema Powerteam+21.234s
1333Marino SatoJAPMotopark+27.884s
RET31Lando NorrisGBRCarlinRetired
RET99Nikita MazepinRUSHitech Grand PrixRetired
RET47Keyvan Andres SooriGERMotoparkRetired
RET96Joey MawsonAUSVan Amersfoort RacingRetired
RET34Jake HughesGBRHitech Grand PrixRetired
RET55David BeckmannGERVan Amersfoort RacingRetired