Lucas Auer Claims the First Pole Position of the 2017 DTM Season

Credit: ACPhotocorse
Credit: ACPhotocorse

The first race for the 2017 DTM Series will see an all Mercedes top three as Lucas Auer will start from pole followed by Gary Paffett and Edoardo Mortara.

All six Mercedes drivers feature in the top ten with Paul di Resta starting sixth, Maro Engel in seventh and Robert Wickens rounding off the top ten.

The BMW duo of Timo Glock and Maxime Martin complete the top five, with team-mate Tom Blomqvist starting from ninth.

Audi‘s Nico Müller  will line up in eighth place, the only driver from the Ingolstadt team to qualify within the top half of the grid.

Reigning champion Marco Wittmann was only able to muster 11th on the grid with Jamie Green starting alongside him.

Bruno Spengler, Rene RastAugusto Farfus, Mike RockenfellerMattias Ekström and Loic Duval complete the grid.

Ekström is once again splitting his duties between DTM and the FIA WorldRX, the Swede suffered a spin on his out lap but luckily was able to recover.

It seems that the regulation changes that the series has introduced have worked as Auer’s pole time eclipsed that of Müller’s last year by 3.027 seconds.

The first race of the season gets underway at 14.48 CEST, lasting for 55 minutes plus one lap, with all drivers required to complete a mandatory pit stop.