Mahindra targeting wins after second podium in two races

Credit: Formula E

Nick Heidfeld has said his Mahindra Racing team are now targeting wins after they achieved the best ever result in the Paris ePrix.

Having scored 23 points in Monaco the team bettered it in Paris with a third place finish for Heidfeld and his team-mate Felix Rosenqvist just behind him.

It was the team’s fourth podium of the year, and is a remarkable turnaround for a team that failed to secure a single trophy in the debut year of the championship.

Heidfeld was particularly pleased with the pace of his Mahindra, as he seemed to be more evenly matched with the frontrunners than in previous races.

The German said, “It was another exciting race and the good thing is that we were a lot more competitive than we were in Monaco.

“It was nice to see that I had similar pace to the leaders and had a lot more energy available. I was a bit unlucky with some of the traffic and lost some time, but that’s racing.”

And he said that although this result will be hard to beat, the team will now be pushing hard to achieve wins, something he describes as their ‘final target’.

“To top it now starts to get difficult! P3 and P4 is already quite nice, but we all push flat out,” Heidfeld said.

“I like to help motivate the team where I can because we’ve made big jumps ahead and improvements. We cannot stop working hard until we reach our final target – to win!”

The result means Mahindra are now comfortably in third place in the team’s championship, which is where Team Principal Dilbagh Gill said that he was aiming for his team to be.

“At the halfway mark of the championship, I think we are back where we needed to be!

“It’s satisfying to be solidly in third position in the teams’ standings because that has been the aim for us from the beginning of the season.”

1Sebastien BuemiSUIRenault e.dams132
2Lucas di GrassiBRAAbt Schaeffler Audi89
3Nico ProstFRARenault e.dams58
4Nick HeidfeldGERMahindra Racing47
5Jean-Eric VergneFRATecheetah40
6Felix RosenqvistSWEMahindra Racing40
7Sam BirdGBRDS Virgin Racing35
8Nelson Piquet JrBRANextEV TIO33
9Jose Maria LopezARGDS Virgin Racing28
10Daniel AbtGERAbt Schaeffler Audi26
11Robin FrijnsNEDMS Amlin Andretti16
12Mitch EvansNZLPanasonic Jaguar Racing15
13Oliver TurveyGBRNextEV TIO15
14Maro EngelGERVenturi12
15Antonio Felix da CostaPORMS Amlin Andretti10
16Jerome d'AmbrosioBELFF Dragon Racing10
17Loic DuvalFRAFF Dragon Racing9
18Esteban GutierrezMEXTecheetah5
19Adam CarrollGBRPanasonic Jaguar Racing4
20Tom DillmanFRAVenturi4
21Stephane SarrazinFRAVenturi2
1Renault e.damsFRA190
2Abt Schaeffler AudiGER115
3Mahindra RacingIND87
4DS Virgin RacingGBR63
7MS Amlin AndrettiUSA26
8Panasonic Jaguar RacingGBR19
9FF Dragon RacingUSA19