Steering rack failure to blame for Vergne crash

Credit: Formula E

Jean-Eric Vergne has said that the crash that ended his Paris ePrix was a result of a steering rack failure.

The Frenchman was running in second place when his car seemed to struggle to turn in to the left hander at turn thirteen.

It caused him to run into the barrier on the exit of the turn, and ruined what until then had been a promising race for the Techeetah driver.

Speaking to Autosport afterwards he said that he had suspected that something might be about to go wrong after his steering became loose on the lap before.

“Halfway through the previous lap I suspect something broke because the steering was quite loose, the car was not really turning,” he said.

Had it not been for the failure, Vergne believes that he could have challenged Sebastien Buemi for the victory, saying that his car had felt faster than the Renault e.dams and that he had managed to save more energy than the Swiss driver.

“I had worked so hard the second stint to save a lot of energy, I had more than Seb, it’s not fair to say I would have won but I was waiting for my chance later in the stint to attack,” Vergne said.

“I knew I was faster, I could see he was lifting way earlier. I was preparing my attack for later on.

“The car was so much better, I was faster than him in the second stint considering how little energy I was consuming and unfortunately a failure broke all those chances.

“It’s a lot of hard work disappeared in an instant.”

The result eliminated Vergne’s already slim hopes that he could challenge for this year’s title.

Despite proving to be a match for Buemi several times this season he has struggled to turn it into results, with only two podiums and three retirements.

1Sebastien BuemiSUIRenault e.dams132
2Lucas di GrassiBRAAbt Schaeffler Audi89
3Nico ProstFRARenault e.dams58
4Nick HeidfeldGERMahindra Racing47
5Jean-Eric VergneFRATecheetah40
6Felix RosenqvistSWEMahindra Racing40
7Sam BirdGBRDS Virgin Racing35
8Nelson Piquet JrBRANextEV TIO33
9Jose Maria LopezARGDS Virgin Racing28
10Daniel AbtGERAbt Schaeffler Audi26
11Robin FrijnsNEDMS Amlin Andretti16
12Mitch EvansNZLPanasonic Jaguar Racing15
13Oliver TurveyGBRNextEV TIO15
14Maro EngelGERVenturi12
15Antonio Felix da CostaPORMS Amlin Andretti10
16Jerome d'AmbrosioBELFF Dragon Racing10
17Loic DuvalFRAFF Dragon Racing9
18Esteban GutierrezMEXTecheetah5
19Adam CarrollGBRPanasonic Jaguar Racing4
20Tom DillmanFRAVenturi4
21Stephane SarrazinFRAVenturi2
1Renault e.damsFRA190
2Abt Schaeffler AudiGER115
3Mahindra RacingIND87
4DS Virgin RacingGBR63
7MS Amlin AndrettiUSA26
8Panasonic Jaguar RacingGBR19
9FF Dragon RacingUSA19