Davenport, Taylor-Smith and Smith Withdraw from Croft

Luke Davenport (centre) was airlifed to hospital after his qualifying accident. | Credit: BTCC Media

Three drivers involved in the session-ending accident during qualifying have been forced to withdraw from the British Touring Car Championship round at Croft.

Luke Davenport and Jeff Smith were the two drivers worst affected by the multi-car pileup at the Barcroft corner, with both being cut out of their respective cars due to the amount of damage sustained to them.

While the cars alone sustained too much damaged to be fixed in time for Sunday’s races, the greatest concern is for the pair’s health, with both having been airlifted to hospital after the accident.

“After a lengthy stoppage Luke [Davenport] was safely extricated from the car by the BTCC Medical Team and taken to the Croft Medical Centre,” read a statement from Davenport’s team, Motorbase Performance. “There he spoke to some members of our team whilst being assessed, and he was later taken to hospital by air ambulance for further and assessment and treatment.”

Jeff Smith’s Eurotech Racing entry has been withdrawn from the remainder of the event, though no statement has been released on his condition since being airlifted to hospital.

Árón Taylor-Smith was also the victim of heavy contact in the incident and after being taken to James Cook Hospital in Middlesbrough, he was diagnosed with a fracture in his left leg. He also suffered a concussion in the accident, and will remain in hospital overnight to monitor the latter condition. As a consequence, his Triple Eight MG entry has also been withdrawn from proceedings for the rest of the weekend.

Revised Top 10 Grid for Croft Race 1

1Ashley SuttonAdrian Flux Subaru Racing1:33.182
2Colin TurkingtonTeam BMW+0.561
3Mat JacksonMotorbase Performance+0.604
4Gordon SheddenHalfords Yuasa Racing+0.626
5Josh CookMG Racing RCIB Insurance+0.722
6Jason PlatoAdrian Flux Subaru Racing+0.829
7Matt NealHalfords Yuasa Racing+0.895
8Josh PriceAdrian Flux Subaru Racing+0.904
9James ColeAdrian Flux Subaru Racing+1.002
10Tom ChiltonPower Maxed Racing+1.111