Eriksson controls final Hungaroring race to reclaim Championship Lead

Joel Eriksson claimed his fourth victory of the season in the final race at the Hungaroring - Credit: FIA Formula 3 European Championship

Joel Eriksson returned to the top of the championship standings after a lights-to-flag victory in race three at the Hungaroring on Sunday.

The Motopark driver controlled the race with relative ease having started from pole position, with Eriksson beating race two winner Callum Ilott of Prema Powerteam by 1.882 seconds.

Guan Yu Zhou finished third on the road after jumping Lando Norris at the start, but the Chinese racer was penalised with a five-second time penalty after the chequered flag after he was adjudged to have gone off track and gained an advantage as he defended his position from the British driver on the penultimate lap at the turn six chicane.

After two disappointing races earlier in the weekend, the podium will be a welcome result for Norris, with the Carlin driver having dropped a good number of points in the championship standings, and he leaves the Hungaroring fourth in the standings having arrived there as joint leader.

David Beckmann secured his second fifth place finish of his first weekend with Motopark, with the German holding off a train of cars until the chequered flag, led by Maximilian Günther, who could only finish sixth for the second time in the day to lose the championship lead to Eriksson.

Hitech Grand Prix’s Jake Hughes followed Günther home in seventh, followed by Van Amersfoort Racing’s Joey Mawson and Carlin’s Jehan Daruvala, while Hitech’s Nikita Mazepin was the final driver inside the points in tenth.

Hungaroring Race 3 Result

11Joel ErikssonSWEMotopark35:37.495s
253Callum IlottGBRPrema Powerteam+1.882s
331Lando NorrisGBRCarlin+6.408s
48Guan Yu ZhouCHNPrema Powerteam+10.519s
555David BeckmannGERMotopark+12.146s
63Maximilian GuntherGERPrema Powerteam+12.790s
734Jake HughesGBRHitech Grand Prix+13.167s
896Joey MawsonAUSVan Amersfoort Racing+13.953s
927Jehan DaruvalaINDCarlin+15.023s
1099Nikita MazepinRUSHitech Grand Prix+17.410s
1125Mick SchumacherGERPrema Powerteam+18.100s
1262Ferdinand HabsburgAUTCarlin+18.777s
137Ralf AronESTHitech Grand Prix+19.772s
145Pedro PiquetBRZVan Amersfoort Racing+21.505s
1533Marino SatoJAPMotopark+26.545s
1647Keyvan Andres SooriGERMotopark+31.893s
1711Tadasuke MakinoJAPHitech Grand Prix+36.284s
1817Harrison NeweyGBRVan Amersfoort Racing+52.479s