Rosenqvist: Mahindra are the ones to watch

Credit: Mahindra

Felix Rosenqvist has said that his performance this weekend makes him and his team the ones to watch for the rest of the championship.

Rosenqvist won Mahindra Racing’s first ever race in Formula E this weekend at the Berlin ePrix, and would have had a second victory had it not been for a calamitous pit stop error that gave him a ten second race penalty.

Team-mate Nick Heidfeld meanwhile scored his third podium in a row, and despite starting at the back for the second race he managed to fight his way into the points.

It was a marked up turn in form for the Indian team, and although they had shown front running pace in the past, they had never looked to have the pace to beat the likes of championship leaders Renault e.dams.

Rosenqvist has said that the team are on fire, and having moved into third into the driver’s championship he believes he can push on to close the gap to the top two of Lucas di Grassi and Sebastien Buemi.

Rosenqvist said, “We had a really, really solid car. I felt really good on the track and it would have been two wins in a row if not for the penalty.

“It was unfortunate to have the race end like that. It’s not what you want as a racer, you want the on-track result to be representative of the final result.

“Performance-wise, we are on fire. I believe I can extend the gap from Nico [Prost] for third in the championship and as a team we are closing in on second.

“We are the ones to watch at the moment ­– it’s a bit of a game changer!”

After his double podium finishes in Berlin, Rosenqvist is now in third place in the driver’s championship on 86 points, fourteen ahead of Nico Prost.

It means Mahindra have consolidated their third place in the team’s standings, and are now just twenty-two points behind Abt Schaeffler Audi.

Driver’s Championship

1Sebastien BuemiSUIRenault e.dams157
2Lucas di GrassiBRAAbt Schaeffler Audi125
3Felix RosenqvistSWEMahindra Racing86
4Nico ProstFRARenault e.dams72
5Nick HeidfeldGERMahindra Racing63
6Jean-Eric VergneFRATecheetah52
7Jose Maria LopezARGDS Virgin Racing50
8Sam BirdGBRDS Virgin Racing47
9Daniel AbtGERAbt Schaeffler Audi46
10Nelson Piquet JrBRANextEV TIO33
11Oliver TurveyGBRNextEV TIO18
12Mitch EvansNZLPanasonic Jaguar Racing16
13Robin FrijnsNEDMS Amlin Andretti16
14Maro EngelGERVenturi15
15Antonio Felix da CostaPORMS Amlin Andretti10
16Jerome d'AmbrosioBELFF Dragon Racing10
17Loic DuvalFRAFF Dragon Racing9
18Esteban GutierrezMEXTecheetah5
19Adam CarrollGBRPanasonic Jaguar Racing4
20Tom DillmanFRAVenturi4
21Stephane SarrazinFRATecheetah2


Team’s Championship

1Renault e.damsFRA229
2Abt Schaeffler AudiGER171
3Mahindra RacingIND149
4DS Virgin RacingGBR97
7MS Amlin AndrettiUSA26
9Pansonic Jaguar RacingGBR20
10FF Dragin RacingUSA19