European Formula 3

Hat Trick of Poles for Lando Norris at Spa-Francorchamps

1 Mins read
Lando Norris took all three pole positions on offer at Spa on Thursday - Credit: FIA Formula 3 European Championship / Thomas Suer

Lando Norris took a hat trick of pole positions at Spa-Francorchamps on Thursday after dominating both qualifying sessions around the 4.352-mile circuit.

The Carlin driver was fastest in the opening qualifying session with a best time of 2:12.144s, while his two best laps in the second session – 2:11.120s and 2:11.307s – were enough to take pole for races two and three.

Norris will be joined on the front row in each of the three races by fellow Briton Callum Ilott, with the Prema Powerteam driver ending 0.225 seconds, 0.171 seconds and 0.081 seconds back from the pole time respectively.

Jake Hughes will start third for Hitech Grand Prix for race one, with the Briton just ahead of championship leader Maximilian Günther of Prema Powerteam, while another Hitech driver, Nikita Mazepin, ended the session in fifth.

Guan Yu Zhou will start sixth for Prema Powerteam, while Jehan Daruvala, Ralf Aron, Harrison Newey and Pedro Piquet complete the top ten.

Zhou will start third for races two ahead of Günther and Hughes, while Mazepin will start sixth ahead of Carlin duo Daruvala and Ferdinand Habsburg, while Aron and Piquet round out the top ten.

The same top five will grace the front of the grid for race three, Norris ahead of Ilott, Zhou, Günther and Hughes, with Daruvala moving up to sixth ahead of Aron, Habsburg, Newey and Joel Eriksson, who a year ago took his maiden FIA European Formula 3 Championship victory at this circuit.

However, Motopark appear to be struggling for pace once again this weekend, at least in qualifying trim, and the championship contender will have it all to do when the races get underway, starting down in twelfth for the opening two races before moving up to tenth for race three.

Spa-Francorchamps Race 1 Qualifying Result

[table id=2267 /]

Spa-Francorchamps Race 2 Qualifying Result

[table id=2268 /]

Spa-Francorchamps Race 3 Qualifying Result

[table id=2269 /]

12250 posts

About author
Thirty-something motorsport fanatic, covering Formula 1, Formula Renault 2.0 and Formula 3. Feel free to give him a follow on Twitter at @Paul11MSport.
Related posts
DTMEuropean Formula 3Formula European MastersGeneral Formula 3

Fenestraz Loses Renault Backing after Failing to Meet Top Three Target

1 Mins read
Sacha Fenestraz’s failure to finish inside the top three in the FIA European Formula 3 championship in 2018 has cost him his place in the Renault Sport Academy.
European Formula 3Season Review

Season Review: 2018 FIA European Formula 3 Championship - Schumacher's Title

7 Mins read
The Checkered Flag looks back at the 2018 FIA European Formula 3 Championship season, a year where the name of Schumacher once again became the one to beat in motor sport.
DTMEuropean Formula 3FIA World RallycrossGT World ChallengePorsche Mobil 1 Supercup

Andreas Bakkerud Heads Audi's Rookie Test Line-Up

1 Mins read
The World Rallycross Championship race winner is one of the six drivers called up by Audi for the end-of-season rookie testing.