Mahindra celebrate best ever championship result with another podium

Credit: Formula E

Mahindra Racing are celebrating their best ever result in Formula E after securing third place in the team’s championship.

The Indian squad were under pressure from a resurgent DS Virgin Racing after the New York ePrix, but Felix Rosenqvist’s fifth podium finish of the season was enough to see them off.

It means Mahindra have now secured ten podium finishes throughout the season, more than any other team, which also included their first ever win in Berlin.

Having led for the first half of the race, Rosenqvist was disappointed not to win for a second time in Montreal, but his result meant that he also finished third in the driver’s standings – a result he was delighted with.

“We made it happen and that was the key to starting from pole and controlling the race initially,” Rosenqvist said. “JEV probably had the better strategy and was hungrier for the win.

“I spoke with my engineer about where Sam Bird was and didn’t want to compromise my energy targets. I’m very happy to finish in third for the Drivers’ and also happy for the team to finish third in the Teams’ Championship. That’s a fantastic season for us.”

His team-mate Nick Heidfeld had a tougher weekend, being punted out in the first race by Loic Duval before finishing fifth on Sunday.

He too was delighted with the progress being made by the team, saying it was a great way to finish the season.

“It’s a great end to the season for us and I’m delighted for the team. Finishing third in the Teams’ Championship was the main target,” said Heidfeld.

“After I struggled so much yesterday and this morning in practice, I was very happy to be in Super Pole for qualifying and then to start from fourth in the race.

“I did a good job but it was a difficult weekend because I just couldn’t keep up with the pace of the cars in front. Finishing fifth was OK and I was able to secure some points.

“The race went pretty smooth, nothing crazy happened, but most importantly we finished in the top three in the Teams’ Championship.”

Driver’s Championship

1Lucas di GrassiBRAAbt Schaeffler Audi181
2Sebastien BuemiSUIRenault e.dams157
3Felix RosenqvistSWEMahindra Racing127
4Sam BirdGBRDS Virgin Racing122
5Jean-Eric VergneFRATecheetah117
6Nico ProstFRARenault e.dams93
7Nick HeidfeldGERMahindra Racing88
8Daniel AbtGERAbt Schaeffler Audi67
9Jose Maria LopezARGDS Virgin Racing65
10Stephane SarrazinFRATecheetah36
11Nelson Piquet JrBRANextEV NIO33
12Oliver TurveyGBRNextEV NIO26
13Robin FrijnsNEDMS Amlin Andretti24
14Mitch EvansNZLPanasonic Jaguar Racing22
15Loic DuvalFRAFF Dragon Racing20
16Pierre GaslyFRARenault e.dams18
17Maro EngelGERVenturi16
18Jerome d'AmbrosioBELFF Dragon Racing13
19Tom DillmanFRAVenturi12
20Antonio Felix da CostaPORMS Amlin Andretti10
21Adam CarrollGBRPanasonic Jaguar Racing5
22Esteban GutierrezMEXVenturi5
23Alex LynnGBRDS Virgin Racing3

Team’s Championship

1Renault e.damsFRA268
2Abt Schaeffler AudiGER248
3Mahindra RacingIND215
4DS Virgin RacingGBR190
7MS Amlin AndrettiUSA34
8FF Dragon RacingUSA33
10Panasonic Jaguar RacingGBR27