Formula E

Rosenqvist thought he had race under control

1 Mins read
Credit: Formula E

Felix Rosenqvist says he believed he was in control of the race before Sam Bird re passed him for the lead of the New York ePrix.

The Swedish driver took the lead of the race going into the first corner, and then held Bird behind him for the opening laps.

From there he had hoped to control the pace and win his second race of the season, only for the DS Virgin Racing driver to pass him towards the end of the first stint.

He remained optimistic about his pace though, and going into the final double header in Montreal he is one of only three drivers capable of winning the driver’s championship.

After the race Rosenqvist said, “It was feeling pretty good in the beginning and I had a very good start off the line.

“I thought we had the race under control with Sam. It was great we challenged him for the lead, and though he got past me again at the end of the first stint we were able to show that our car is capable of winning races.

“It’s a great position to be in for the final two rounds of the season and I can’t wait to get back in the car in Montreal.”

His Mahindra Racing team-mate Nick Heidfeld also had an encouraging race, finishing behind Rosenqvist in third.

He did admit however to taking it easy towards the end of the race to avoid a similar suspension failure to the one that took him out of the first race on Saturday.

“It was a good race and quite exciting, to finish with another double podium is fantastic,” Heidfeld commented. “I managed to gain a position from the start and was also pushed a bit from the back.

“Luckily the car stayed in one piece! After that I had very good pace, better than the cars in front but I tried to play it safe especially after what happened yesterday. It was important not to risk anything.”

Driver’s Championship

[table id=2254 /]

Team’s Championship

[table id=2255 /]

679 posts

About author
Formula E writer for TCF since 2015-16 and fascinated by all things electric.
Related posts
Formula E

Venturi’s Susie Wolff: “To have both cars scoring points in every race is essential for us”

1 Mins read
Lucas di Grassi’s arrival at Venturi is down to the need for the team to have two cars regularly fighting at the front of the field, according to Team Principal Susie Wolff.
Formula E

Mortara, di Grassi to Form ROKIT Venturi Racing Line-up for Season Eight of Formula E

2 Mins read
ROKiT Venturi Racing have announced Lucas di Grassi as Edoardo Mortara’s new team-mate for season eight of Formula E.
Formula E

Mahindra Racing Confirm Rowland and Sims for Season Eight of Formula E

2 Mins read
Oliver Rowland has been confirmed as Alexander Sims’ new team-mate for the 2021-22 Formula E season, replacing Alex Lynn.