Wittmann Quickest in DTM Qualifying But Rast Starts on Pole

1 Mins read
Credit: BMW PressClub Global

Reigning DTM Series champion Marco Wittmann lapped the quickest in the first qualifying session of the weekend but it will be Rene Rast who will start from pole once again.

The BMW driver was handed a five place grid penalty after he picked up his third reprimand of the season at the Norisring, this means he will start from sixth instead.

Rast who had been the pacesetter in the practice session earlier today will now start from pole, with the injured Mike Rockenfeller promoted to the front row alongside him after a very impressive session.

Rockenfeller’s participation was in doubt as Audi drafted in Nyck de Vries to replace him if needs be. After the session, the German was seen limping and using crutches – highlighting the extent of his injury.

Wittmann, put in his lap prior to the halfway point in the session and despite tyre changes nobody was able to match the Bavarian’s time.

Augusto Farfus and Timo Glock claim ownership of the second row, ahead of championship leader Mattias Ekström and the penalised Wittmann.

Yesterday’s pacesetter Jamie Green and fellow Briton Tom Blomqvist will go from the fourth row of the grid.

Gary Paffett and Loic Duval complete the top ten.

Second place man in the championship Lucas Auer could only go as well as 14th behind Bruno SpenglerRobert Wickens (with the pair making it an all Canadian sixth row) and Nico Muller.

The Mercedes of Edoardo Mortara ended up in the gravel following an off, the Italian will line up from 17th place behind Maxime Martin and Paul di Resta, and ahead of stablemate Maro Engel.

The ninth race of the season gets underway at 15.40 local time and will last for 55 minutes plus one lap.

Related posts

Audi Secure the DTM Manufacturers’ Championship With Six Races Still To Run

3 Mins read
Another all Audi podium means that the DTM manufacturers championship is all tied up for this season with Audi being well ahead with 827 points compared to the 356 points of BMW.

The “Flying Dutchman” clinches an extremely rare lights-to-flag victory in the DTM

2 Mins read
Robin Frijns led from start to finish in this unusual race with three safety car appearances at the Nürburgring Sprint circuit.

Frijns Takes Second Victory of 2020 as Championship Leader Müller Fades to Fifth

2 Mins read
Robin Frijns closed the gap on team-mate Nico Müller at the top of the championship standings by winning race two at the Nürburgring on Sunday.

Leave a Reply