Formula E

De Vries and Muller to test for Audi

1 Mins read
Credit: Audi

Audi Sport Abt Schaeffler have chosen Nyck de Vries and Nico Muller to drive for them in the Formula E rookie test next month.

The rules of the test dictate that any driver taking part must not hold an e-license, or have competed in a Formula E race.

Swiss driver Muller already drives for Audi in DTM, and Team Principal Allan McNish said that they had been monitoring the career of de Vries for several years.

McNish said, “This mid-season test is a unique opportunity. Nico and Nyck are going to drive our e-tron FE04 for a number of test kilometers which will give them a good initial impression of the car and the things that are special in Formula E.

“Nico already belongs to the Audi family and we’ve been closely watching Nyck’s career in recent years. Both have their roots in single-seater racing and will no doubt manage well.”

De Vries has just completed his first season in Formula 2, finishing seventh overall and getting his first win with Rapax.

Muller meanwhile finished in twelfth in DTM this season, managing two podiums along the way.

Speaking about his upcoming test, Muller said “I’ve been watching Formula E as a fan for quite some time but, unfortunately, only on television,”

“When I visit ABT Sportsline the Formula E race car is often parked alongside my DTM car – that’s when I fancy driving it, so I’m all the more excited about this opportunity.”

The team have also asked reigning Formula E champion Lucas di Grassi to be on hand to offer advice to both of the newcomers during the test.

679 posts

About author
Formula E writer for TCF since 2015-16 and fascinated by all things electric.
Related posts
Formula E

Rowland Fastest in Opening Diriyah Practice as Defending Champion de Vries Crashes

2 Mins read
Oliver Rowland was quickest in practice for the Diriyah E-Prix on Thursday, while defending champion Nyck de Vries ended in the wall early on.
Formula E

Norman Nato, Tom Dillmann Announced as Jaguar TCS Racing as Reserve Drivers

2 Mins read
Jaguar TCS Racing will have two reserve drivers for the 2021/22 Formula E season, with Tom Dillmann being joined by Norman Nato.
Formula E

Porsche Taycan Unveiled as New Safety Car for Season Eight of FIA Formula E

1 Mins read
The new Formula E safety car has been revealed as the Porsche Taycan Turbo S, which will begin its duties in the Diriyah E-Prix later this month.