Ticktum Heads Schumacher on Opening Day of Red Bull Ring Test

Daniel Ticktum was fastest on day one
Credit: FIA Formula 3 European Championship / Thomas Suer

The Red Bull-backed Daniel Ticktum ended the opening day of the second pre-season FIA European Formula 3 Championship test at Red Bull Ring with the fastest time, just 0.001 seconds clear of Mick Schumacher.

Ticktum, who is racing for the German-based Motopark outfit in 2018, set a time of 1:23.037s during the afternoon session in Austria, with Prema Theodore Racing’s Schumacher getting to within one-thousandth of a second, while Alex Palou made it three different teams at the head of the pack, the Spaniard putting his Hitech Grand Prix machine into third with a best lap of 1:23.087s.

Whereas Ticktum and Schumacher set their best laps in the afternoon, Palou’s best came during the morning session, as did his team-mate Enaam Ahmed’s best lap, with the 2017 BRDC Formula 3 champion ending up fourth fastest overall, ahead of another trio of Prema Theodore Racing drivers.

Ferrari Driver Academy members Guan Yu Zhou and Robert Shwartzman ended fifth and seventh, either side of Ralf Aron, while two Motopark drivers, Marino Sato and Juri Vips, were eighth and ninth ahead of the leading Carlin of 2017 Eurocup Formula Renault 2.0 champion Sacha Fenestraz.

Fabio Scherer and Jonathan Aberdein were just outside the top ten for Motopark ahead of the fifth Prema Theodore Racing machine of Marcus Armstrong, while Jehan Daruvala and Artem Petrov completed the top fifteen.

Twenty-one of the twenty-four drivers were all within one second of the outright pace, while the field had one addition to the first test that took place last week at the Hungaroring, with Sophia Floersch driving the third Van Amersfoort Racing machine, with the German looking increasingly likely to complete the driver line-up at the Dutch outfit in 2018.  She finished last in both sessions but was less than two seconds off the pace of the more experience Ticktum.

Red Bull Ring Test Day 1 Result

127Daniel TicktumGBRMotopark1:23.2811:23.037
24Mick SchumacherGERPrema Theodore Racing1:23.4161:23.038
339Alex PalouESPHitech Grand Prix1:23.0871:23.334
465Enaam AhmedGBRHitech Grand Prix1:23.1551:23.535
51Guan Yu ZhouCHNPrema Theodore Racing1:23.5851:23.173
67Ralf AronESTPrema Theodore Racing1:23.5151:23.221
710Robert ShwartzmanRUSPrema Theodore Racing1:23.5191:23.283
833Marino SatoJAPMotopark1:25.2711:23.390
944Juri VipsESTMotopark1:23.3931:23.475
1011Sacha FenestrazFRACarlin1:23.7061:23.452
1113Fabio SchererSWIMotopark1:23.4621:23.653
1223Jonathan AberdeinRSAMotopark1:23.4811:23.633
138Marcus ArmstrongNZLPrema Theodore Racing1:23.6981:23.511
149Jehan DaruvalaINDCarlin1:23.5151:23.535
1512Artem PetrovRUSVan Amersfoort Racing1:23.6311:23.524
163Sebastian FernandezVENMotopark1:23.6021:23.753
178Ferdinand HabsburgAUTCarlin1:23.7101:23.887
1877Ben HingeleyGBRHitech Grand Prix1:23.7241:24.023
1915Keyvan AndresGERVan Amersfoort Racing1:24.7181:23.739
2017Devlin DeFrancescoCANCarlin1:23.9441:23.821
2116Nikita TroitskiyRUSCarlin1:23.9781:23.865
2218Julian HansesGERMa-Con1:24.8101:24.092
2324Ameya VaidyanathanINDCarlin1:24.2291:24.437
2425Sophia FloerschGERVan Amersfoort Racing1:25.4951:25.005