Incredible lap gives Goff pole for “Diamond Double”

1 Mins read
Jack Goff BTCC

Jack Goff obliterated his earlier qualifying lap record as he stormed to pole position at Snetterton in qualifying for the one-off Diamond Double race tomorrow.

In celebration of sixty years of the Dunlop MSA British Touring Car Championship, the Diamond Double is a special no ballast, double points and sixty mile event which had its own qualifying session a couple hours after initial qualifying for the first normal race.

Jack Goff remains untouchable in Norfolk as he had to smash the qualifying lap record around Snetterton twice in order to gain two poles in one day.

Honda domination continued as Matt Neal managed to grab second for Halfords Yuasa Racing, the most experienced driver on the grid highlighting why the triple champion is considered one of the greatest drivers to grace the championship.

Third went the way of Tom Chilton, a result that pleased the Team Shredded Wheat Racing with Gallagher man who celebrated the result with animated joy in his cockpit.

Tom Ingram continued his top speed with fourth ahead of Dan Cammish in fifth and the fastest rear-wheel drive car of Andrew Jordan in sixth.

Mercedes-Benz driver Adam Morgan looked quick in seventh ahead of Colin Turkington in eighth who had a time deleted due to track limit infringements.

Goff’s team-mate Brett Smith will line up ninth whilst for the second time today at Snetterton, Tom Oliphant will round out the top ten with the tenth fastest time.

[table id=3273 /]

405 posts

About author
A BTCC fan turned writer with two degrees in Journalism and Media from Nottingham Trent University. Outside of motorsport, Stuart is an admirer of the London Underground and is often found listening to music. Covers the British Touring Car Championship and Renault UK Clio Cup.
Related posts

Ash Sutton regains BTCC Drivers' Championship with rampant race one win at Brands Hatch

2 Mins read
Imperious Ash Sutton took the BTCC Drivers’ title for a fourth time in the first race at Brands Hatch GP finishing off an incredible season.

Turkington tops Silverstone reverse grid race with 150th race win for BMW

2 Mins read
Four-time BTCC champion, Colin Turkington may be all but out of the BTCC Drivers’ Championship hunt, but concluded Silverstone with a milestone…

Sutton seals mind blowing Silverstone win from 23rd on the grid

2 Mins read
Ash Sutton is at it again in a drive that may have just sealed another BTCC Drivers’ Championship for the imperious NAPA…