Preview: 2018 DTM Series – Brands Hatch

2 Mins read
Gary Paffett: 2018 DTM Series - Zandvoort
Credit: DTM Media

The DTM Series is back in action this weekend at Brands Hatch after a four week break.

Following the previous round at Zandvoort the series head into its summer break.

Last time out, Audi bounced back with their first win of the season at the hands of reigning champion René Rast.

Mercedes‘ Gary Paffett once again stomped his authority to win for the fourth time in 2018.

What Happened Last Time Out at Zandvoort?

On Saturday, Paffett headed a Mercedes 1-2-3-4 in qualifying which transitioned into the same result in the race.

Home favourite Robin Frijns put in a strong performance in Race 1 for fourth place.

Frijns’ team-mate Nico Müller had got himself up into fifth having jumped the BMW‘s of Timo Glock and Marco Wittmann but the Swiss was not able to capitalise on his pace.

The Audi driver suffered a puncture which forced him into the barrier and had to retire.

A safety car period was deployed which had massive repercussions for team-mate Rast who was leading having not yet pitted.

Drivers are not allowed to serve their mandatory pitstop under the safety car, meaning Rast had no choice but to dive into the pits when the period ended and drop to the back of the field.

Paffett resumed his advantage at the front of the field to bring home a Mercedes 1-2-3-4 ahead of Paul di RestaLucas Auer and Pascal Wehrlein.

It was much the same on Sunday with Paffett dominating qualifying, to take pole by almost half a second over BMW’s Philipp Eng.

All three brands were represented in the top three with Rast starting third for Audi.

In a reversal of the day before, Rast opted to pit at the end of the very first lap and attempt a risky strategy.

After, a fourth place in Race 1 it was a very disappointing Sunday for Frijns who had an electronic issue hinder him in every session of the day and caused him to retire from the race early on.

It was the safety car that once again decided the result of the race.

Rast having pitted early in the race had the lead of the race with Paffett on fresher tyres.

With all his DRS available to him, Paffett went on the attack but due to the nature of the Zandvoort circuit Rast was able to hold onto the lead and take Audi’s first win of the season.

Paffett leads the championship on 148, with di Resta in second on 121.

Timo Glock is third with 101, with BMW team-mate Marco Wittmann fourth on 98.

Edoardo Mortara rounds off the top five just one point behind Wittmann on 97.

What Happened the Last Time the DTM was at Brands Hatch?

The series last raced round the Kentish countryside back in 2013 but then it was held on the Indy layout.

For this year the series will race on the full Grand Prix circuit.

Mike Rockenfeller won the race from pole position as the German claimed the first victory of his title winning campaign.

What is the Schedule?

Due to Brands Hatch being limited on the amount of days they are allowed to use the full GP circuit, the weekend has been reduced from three days to two.

Saturday 11 August

Free Practice 1: 9.00 BST

Free Practice 2: 9:35

Qualifying 1: 11:20

Race 1: 13:30

Sunday 12 August

Free Practice 3: 10.00

Qualifying 2: 11:20

Race 2: 13:30


Fans in the UK are able to watch all sessions live on the DTM Youtube page – remember to select the English streams. It is also streamed live on FaceBook but is with German commentary only.

It is also aired on the FreeSports, but contains adverts.


The action from every session as well as any breaking news will be shared here on TCF!

662 posts

About author
An NCTJ accredited Journalism Graduate covering DTM and the FIA Formula 3 Championship.
Related posts
DTMFormula E

Jaguar I-PACE eTROPHY Champion and Reigning DTM Champion to test for Jaguar

3 Mins read
Jaguar have announced that Simon Evans and reigning DTM Champion Sheldon van der Linde will complete Monday’s Rookie Test for the team.
DTMFormula EFormula Regional European Championship

ABT CUPRA to run Reigning ETCR Champion and ADAC Youngster in Rookie Test

2 Mins read
Reigning ETCR Champion Adrien Tambay and FREC driver Tim Tramnitz will drive for ABT CUPRA next Monday in the Formula E Rookie Test
DTMFormula E

Kelvin van der Linde to replace Robin Frijns for foreseeable future

3 Mins read
ABT DTM driver Kelvin van der Linde has been confirmed as Robin Frijns’ replacement at next weekend’s Diriyah E-Prix, with the Dutchman ruled out for potentially the bulk of the season.