Scherer and Vips Secure Maiden Poles in Second Silverstone Qualifying

Fabio Scherer - Motopark - Silverstone
Credit: FIA Formula 3 European Championship / Thomas Suer

Motopark duo Fabio Scherer and Jüri Vips each took a pole position in the second FIA European Formula 3 Championship Qualifying session of the day at Silverstone.

Scherer will start from pole position for race two on Saturday, his first top spot in his rookie campaign, while Vips will also lead the field to the starting grid for the first time for Sunday’s finale.

The grid for race two was set by the driver’s quickest time in the twenty-minute session, and it was Scherer’s 1:50.460 that was enough to take top spot, although behind him it was a very close run thing, with hundredths and sometimes just thousandths of a second separating drivers.

Mick Schumacher will join Scherer on the front row for Prema Theodore Racing, with the German missing out on his second pole of the season by just 0.049 seconds.  But he ended just 0.001 seconds clear of Vips, who was forced to settle for third on the grid, with the Estonian being joined on row two by Enaam Ahmed of Hitech Bullfrog GP, who ended just 0.077 seconds off pole position himself!

Jonathan Aberdein’s ever-improving campaign continued with the South African putting his Motopark machine into fifth, just ahead of race one polesitter Sacha Fenestraz of Carlin, while championship rivals Marcus Armstrong of Prema and Daniel Ticktum of Motopark will share row four, ahead of Prema team-mates Guan Yu Zhou and Robert Shwartzman.

The top twenty drivers were all within one second of the pole time, and this included debutant Charles Leong, who continued to find his feet in the championship to qualify twentieth of the twenty-four drivers for Hitech.

The grid for race three was set by the second fastest times of the session, and this allowed Vips the opportunity to take top spot for the first time.  He will be joined on the front row by team-mate Aberdein as Scherer’s second-best time was only good enough to see him qualify thirteenth!

Fenestraz, the only Carlin driver inside the top fourteen for either race two or three, will start third for race three ahead of Schumacher, with Armstrong and Ahmed sharing row three ahead of Ticktum and Zhou.

Shwartzman will start the final race of the weekend from ninth on the grid, while Alex Palou will be disappointed with his performance in the session, with tenth in race three following eleventh in race two.  That being said, his best time was just over four-tenths of a second off the pole time, proving just how close and competitive the European Formula 3 Championship is again in 2018.

Silverstone Race 2 Qualifying Result

113Fabio SchererCHEMotopark1:50.460
24Mick SchumacherDEUPrema Theodore Racing1:50.509
344Juri VipsESTMotopark1:50.510
465Enaam AhmedGBRHitech Bullfrog GP1:50.537
523Jonathan AberdeinZAFMotopark1:50.568
611Sacha FenestrazFRACarlin1:50.623
78Marcus ArmstrongNZLPrema Theodore Racing1:50.663
827Daniel TicktumGBRMotopark1:50.684
91Guan Yu ZhouCHNPrema Theodore Racing1:50.708
1010Robert ShwartzmanRUSPrema Theodore Racing1:50.752
1139Alex PalouESPHitech Bullfrog GP1:50.798
1277Ben HingeleyGBRHitech Bullfrog GP1:50.820
137Ralf AronESTPrema Theodore Racing1:50.830
143Sebastian FernandezVENMotopark1:50.971
1533Marino SatoJAPMotopark1:51.009
1662Ferdinand HabsburgAUTCarlin1:51.124
1716Nikita TroitskiyRUSCarlin1:51.136
189Jehan DaruvalaINDCarlin1:51.159
1912Artem PetrovRUSVan Amersfoort Racing1:51.224
2066Charles LeongMACHitech Bullfrog GP1:51.402
2125Sophia FlorschDEUVan Amersfoort Racing1:51.665
2215Keyvan AndresDEUVan Amersfoort Racing1:51.719
2324Ameya VaidyanathanINDCarlin1:51.804
245Petru FlorescuROMFortec Motorsports1:52.650

Silverstone Race 3 Qualifying Result

144Juri VipsESTMotopark1:50.543
223Jonathan AberdeinZAFMotopark1:50.656
311Sacha FenestrazFRACarlin1:50.671
44Mick SchumacherDEUPrema Theodore Racing1:50.686
58Marcus ArmstrongNZLPrema Theodore Racing1:50.733
665Enaam AhmedGBRHitech Bullfrog GP1:50.736
727Daniel TicktumGBRMotopark1:50.757
81Guan Yu ZhouCHNPrema Theodore Racing1:50.805
910Robert ShwartzmanRUSPrema Theodore Racing1:50.806
1039Alex PalouESPHitech Bullfrog GP1:50.858
1177Ben HingeleyGBRHitech Bullfrog GP1:50.881
127Ralf AronESTPrema Theodore Racing1:50.934
1313Fabio SchererCHEMotopark1:50.947
1433Marino SatoJAPMotopark1:51.105
159Jehan DaruvalaINDCarlin1:51.214
163Sebastian FernandezVENMotopark1:51.218
1762Ferdinand HabsburgAUTCarlin1:51.220
1816Nikita TroitskiyRUSCarlin1:51.291
1912Artem PetrovRUSVan Amersfoort Racing1:51.400
2025Sophia FlorschDEUVan Amersfoort Racing1:51.773
2124Ameya VaidyanathanINDCarlin1:51.830
2215Keyvan AndresDEUVan Amersfoort Racing1:51.857
2366Charles LeongMACHitech Bullfrog GP1:52.009
245Petru FlorescuROMFortec Motorsports1:53.080