FIA World Rallycross

2019 FIA World Rallycross Championship Calendar Confirmed

2 Mins read
The 2018 FIA World Rallycross Championship. Credit: McKlein Photography

The FIA World Rallycross Championship has released its calendar for the 2019 season, which sees several changes take place for next year as the Championship enters its sixth season of competition.

The Calendar itself, which is subject to both FIA circuit homologation and approval from the FIA World Motorsport Council, features a reduction to eleven rounds from previous seasons where there have been either twelve or thirteen. There have also been several venues dropped from the Calendar.

The 2019 FIA World Rallycross Championship will venture to Abu Dhabi for the first time. Credit: @World / Red Bull Content Pool

Montalegre in Portugal, Mettet in Belgium and Buxtehude in Germany have all been dropped from next year, however the iconic Estering has been moved to become a standalone event for both Supercars and Super1600’s in the 2019 FIA European Rallycross Championship Calendar.

Replacing Montalegre and Mettet are two new circuits which will see World RX continue its tradition of utilising Formula One Circuits to build brand new Rallycross tracks or F1/RX tracks. This continued in 2018 with Silverstone and COTA joining the list of previous venues with this type of circuit.

The FIA World Rallycross Championship will race at eleven events in 2019. Credit: IMG / World RX

The Yas Marina circuit in Abu Dhabi will host the opening round of the season, breaking new ground as the first competitive Rallycross event ever to be held in the Middle East.

The weekend itself will follow the successful SpeedMachine format that debuted at Silverstone this year which will also be a festival of entertainment including live music.

The legendary Spa-Francorchamps circuit will take over from Mettet as the host of the World RX of Belgium, with a brand new purpose built circuit being constructed to include the famous Eau Rouge corner.

The 2019 FIA World Rallycross Championship Calendar. Credit: IMG / FIA World RX

The 2019 FIA World Rallycross Championship Calendar:

World RX of UAE: Abu Dhabi – Yas Marina – 5-6 April
World RX of Spain: Barcelona – 27-28 April
World RX of Belgium: Spa-Francorchamps – 11-12 May
World RX of Great Britain: Silverstone – 25-26 May
World RX of Norway: Hell – 15-16 June
World RX of Sweden: Höljes – 6-7 July
World RX of Canada: Trois-Rivières – 3-4 August
World RX of France: Lohéac – 31 August-1 September
World RX of Latvia: Riga – 14-15 September
World RX of USA: Austin – 28-29 September
World RX of South Africa: Cape Town – 30 November-1 December

The final round of the 2018 FIA World Rallycross Championship, the World RX of South Africa takes place at the Killarney International circuit on 24 – 25 November.

Related posts
FIA World Rallycross

Enzo Ide to tackle full 2021 World Rallycross calendar with EKS JC

3 Mins read
Enzo Ide will contest the full FIA World Rallycross championship for EKS JC in an Audi S1 EKS RX.
European RallycrossFIA World Rallycross

Adjusted 2021 FIA World RX and Euro RX Calendar Announced

2 Mins read
The new adjusted 2021 calendar for the FIA World Rallycross Championship and the FIA European Rallycross Championship seasons have now been announced.
FIA World RallycrossOpinion

Opinion: Top 10 World RX Tracks

6 Mins read
Everyone loves a top 10, do these tracks deserve to make the cut? And which one is Nigel Chiu’s number one?

Leave a Reply