Stadium SUPER Trucks

Matt Brabham leads SST field in Toronto practice

1 Mins read
Credit: Stadium Super Trucks

Stadium Super Trucks points leader Matt Brabham is off to a good start at the series’ return to Honda Indy Toronto. He recorded the fastest time in Friday practice of the eight drivers participating.

Brabham set a lap time of 1:33.629, nearly a second faster than second-placed Robby Gordon‘s 1:34.765. Behind Gordon was a trio of drivers in the 1:35 range with Gavin Harlien (1:35.177), Jeff Hoffman (1:35.249), and Cole Potts (1:35.977). Bill Hynes barely escaped the 1:38 territory with a 1:37.999 time.

At the tail end were Russell Boyle and Ryan Eversley at 1:38.109 and 1:38.302, respectively. Boyle is running his first SST race of the 2019 season in his home country, while Eversley is a newcomer to the series.

“Gearbox temp sensor wasn’t accurate so we stopped twice to check it,” Eversley said on Twitter“Probably only ran about 4–5 laps but I’m happy with my pace considering.”

Casey Mears, who will run his first SST race of 2019, did not set a time after a rear end gear broke during his lap.

Two races will be held over the weekend, with the first on Saturday, 13 July at 3:30 PM Eastern. The series’ first action in Canada since 2016, Toronto was re-added to the schedule in May.

Practice results

PositionNumberDriverBest TimeMargin
183Matt Brabham1:33.629Leader
27Robby Gordon1:34.765+ 1.136
355Gavin Harlien1:35.177+ 1.548
447Jeff Hoffman1:35.429+ 1.800
560Cole Potts1:35.977+ 2.348
657Bill Hynes1:37.999+ 4.370
793Russell Boyle1:38.109+ 4.480
843Ryan Eversley1:38.302+ 4.673
925Casey MearsNo TimeN/A
Avatar photo
3700 posts

About author
Justin is not an off-road racer, but he writes about it for The Checkered Flag.
Related posts
Stadium SUPER Trucks

Boost Mobile Super Trucks revived, returning at Adelaide

2 Mins read
The Stadium Super Trucks will race in Australia for the first time since 2021 when they appear at the Adelaide 500 weekend in November.
Stadium SUPER Trucks

SST Long Beach Race 2 cut short by fence-ripping crash

2 Mins read
A massive crash involving Zoey Edenholm and Max Gordon coming to the restart forced the Stadium Super Trucks’ Long Beach weekend to end sooner than hoped.
Stadium SUPER Trucks

Max Gordon leads another Gordon 1–2 in SST Long Beach Race 1

2 Mins read
Much like in 2022, Max Gordon beat his father Robby Gordon to win the first race of the 2024 Stadium Super Trucks season at Long Beach.