Formula E

Alex Lynn to race for Mahindra in Berlin in place of Wehrlein

1 Mins read
Credit: Formula E

Alex Lynn has been signed by Mahindra Racing to replace Pascal Wehrlein for the remainder of the 2019-20 ABB FIA Formula E Championship.

The Brit joins the Indian team after they failed to come to an agreement with Wehrlein to complete the current championship ahead of a rumoured move to Porsche for next season.

Lynn has been without a drive in the series since he lost his Panasonic Jaguar Racing seat to James Calado at the end of last season, and will now compete with his third different team in Formula E having previously been with DS Virgin Racing.

He has been signed to cover the six race season ending event in Berlin that has been organised following previous race cancellations due to the Coronavirus.

And although Lynn admits this will be a challenge for him, he said he was looking forward to getting started.

“I am really excited to be able to represent Mahindra Racing in Berlin,” he said. “I have high ambitions in this championship that match what Mahindra Racing wants to achieve. I just can’t wait to get started.

“I’ve raced twice in Berlin before and always felt that I went well there, including appearing in Super Pole last season. The format of Berlin is going to be exciting and challenging at the same time and I’m looking forward to hitting the ground running.”

Team boss Dilbagh Gill also said that being introduced to the team mid-season would be difficult for Lynn, but cited his prior experience in the championship as being one of the reasons they chose him.

Gill commented, “We’re delighted to welcome Alex to the Mahindra Racing family. He has achieved some fantastic highlights in his career already and we’re confident that together we can get results in the remainder of Season 6.

“It’s not easy to jump in mid-season, especially with the unique way we will be running the races in Berlin, but Alex has a hunger, talent and experience that we are sure will pay dividends fast.”

To date Lynn has competed in 21 races in Formula E, with a best finish of sixth in the 2018 Punta del Este ePrix.

679 posts

About author
Formula E writer for TCF since 2015-16 and fascinated by all things electric.
Related posts
Formula E

Venturi’s Susie Wolff: “To have both cars scoring points in every race is essential for us”

1 Mins read
Lucas di Grassi’s arrival at Venturi is down to the need for the team to have two cars regularly fighting at the front of the field, according to Team Principal Susie Wolff.
Formula E

Mortara, di Grassi to Form ROKIT Venturi Racing Line-up for Season Eight of Formula E

2 Mins read
ROKiT Venturi Racing have announced Lucas di Grassi as Edoardo Mortara’s new team-mate for season eight of Formula E.
Formula E

Mahindra Racing Confirm Rowland and Sims for Season Eight of Formula E

2 Mins read
Oliver Rowland has been confirmed as Alexander Sims’ new team-mate for the 2021-22 Formula E season, replacing Alex Lynn.