Formula E

Provisional 2020/1 Formula E World Championship calendar published

1 Mins read
Credit: Envision Virgin Racing

The calendar for the inaugural season of the ABB FIA Formula E World Championship has been formally ratified following approval of the FIA World Motorsport Council.

After six seasons without world championship status, the 2020-1 season marks a significant step for the all-electric racing series, which will race in 12 cities across 14 rounds between January and July 2021.

Starting in sunny Santiago on January 16, the Parque O’Higgins circuit in Santiago will play host to the opening round of the season for the very first time.

The series will then move to Mexico City on February 13 for what will be the sixth race running around the Autodromo Hermanos Rodriguez.

From there, the championship will move to Asia with the series going directly to Saudi Arabia for a double-header on the country’s capital of Diriyah. Picturesque Sanya will play host to the Chinese round once again on March 13 after a year’s hiatus due to coronavirus.

Formula E will move to Europe for races on the Italian capital of Rome and French capital of Paris in quick succession on April 10 and 24 respectively.

The all-electric racing series will then return to the principality of Monaco on May 8 as the fabled streets continue to play host to the ABB FIA Formula E Championship on a bi-annual basis.

The series will then set sail for Seoul in South Korea for the very first time after the event scheduled on the 2019-20 season had to be aborted due to coronavirus.

Formula E has scheduled an event yet to be filled for June 5 which could be filled by a race in Assen after reported earlier this month that the local government are keen to host a circuit at the Assen TT circuit as part of their ambition of the ‘northern Netherlands as an energy valley.’

The Templehof Circuit in Berlin will once again feature on the championship schedule on June 19 followed by a trip across the pond to the Brooklyn Circuit in New York City on July 10.

The inaugural Formula E World Championship will conclude with a double-header season finale around the streets of London which will return to the schedule for the first time since the dramatic championship showdown in 2016.

349 posts

About author
NCTJ Graduate and nominated finalist for Sir William Lyons Award in November 2018. Formula E and Jaguar I-Pace eTrophy TCF correspondent.
Related posts
Formula E

Venturi’s Susie Wolff: “To have both cars scoring points in every race is essential for us”

1 Mins read
Lucas di Grassi’s arrival at Venturi is down to the need for the team to have two cars regularly fighting at the front of the field, according to Team Principal Susie Wolff.
Formula E

Mortara, di Grassi to Form ROKIT Venturi Racing Line-up for Season Eight of Formula E

2 Mins read
ROKiT Venturi Racing have announced Lucas di Grassi as Edoardo Mortara’s new team-mate for season eight of Formula E.
Formula E

Mahindra Racing Confirm Rowland and Sims for Season Eight of Formula E

2 Mins read
Oliver Rowland has been confirmed as Alexander Sims’ new team-mate for the 2021-22 Formula E season, replacing Alex Lynn.