NASCAR Xfinity Series

Jeb Burton wins maiden Xfinity race in rain-shortened Ag-Pro 300

3 Mins read
Credit: Sean Gardner/Getty Images

Please clap for Jeb Burton because he is now a NASCAR Xfinity Series winner. In Saturday’s Ag-Pro 300 at Talladega Superspeedway, Burton was the leader when the race was called after 90 of 113 laps due to rain.

Austin Cindric started on the pole ahead of Daniel Hemric. Joey Gase, who was running a one-off in a #28 Davey Allison tribute scheme, lost fuel pressure prior to the green flag and had to re-fire the car in the garage before joining the race five laps down.

Cindric led the opening lap before Hemric took the position and pulled off. After Hemric led fifteen laps, the top spot was traded between him, Cindric, Noah Gragson, Justin Haley, and Jason White with none of them leading more than three laps. By the end, Haley—who was seeking his third consecutive Talladega victory—took the stage win. Kaulig Racing team-mate Burton, Gragson, Cindric, Harrison Burton, A.J. Allmendinger, Hemric, Brandon Jones, Brandon Brown, and Justin Allgaier closed out the top ten.

Haley and Jeb Burton led the field to the start of Stage #2. The Kaulig drivers held the top of the leaderboard early in the segment before Cindric took the lead on lap 42. Gragson, who dropped back earlier in the stage and set the fastest lap, climbed back through the order and nabbed the stage win with JR Motorsports team-mate Allgaier in tow. Cindric, Jones, Ty Dillon, Myatt Snider, Hemric, Brett Moffitt, Michael Annett, and Brown also finished in the top ten. Bayley Currey exited the race on lap 34 with an overheating issue.

White retired from the race with a suspension failure between stages. The race resumed with Gragson leading before battling Snider and Cindric led laps. Green-flag pit stops commenced on lap 70 with Cindric giving up the lead to Harrison and Jeb Burton. The cousins pitted shortly after which allowed Brown, Colby Howard, and Ryan Vargas to spend time in front; Vargas led three laps, his first in his Xfinity career. Jeffrey Earnhardt nearly spun as he came onto pit road but avoided going fully around. Josh Berry was not as fortunate as he spun in turn three after a rear tyre went down, resulting in a caution.

The race resumed as a battle of the Burtons began. On lap 84, Joe Graf Jr.‘s tyre went down in turn two and he slid up into Annett and Jones, clipping the former who turned Dillon into Jones; Gase and Caesar Bacarella also went around. The wreck continues Dillon’s streak of poor luck in 2021; despite being in one of the top Xfinity cars, he has been caught in an incident in each of his four starts so far.

During the ensuing caution, rain began to fall on the track and resulted in a red flag. With no time to dry the track before sunset and Talladega not having lights, NASCAR officially ended the race. With Jeb Burton leading, he was declared the winner for his first Xfinity victory in his maiden full-time season.

It is Burton’s first NASCAR national series victory since 2013 in the Camping World Truck Series.

“It’s been a tough road to get to this point,” said Burton. “Just an unbelievable race team. Today, we had Mother Nature on our side, but we had a fast car anyway. We ran up front all day. We’ve been building and building and building, and I feel like I’ve kind of been the weak link the last couple of races, and I need to clean some things up.

“Just the momentum, that’s what I needed. I want to win races. I told them (Kaulig Racing) that I wanted to come there and hang banners.”

Race results

1910Jeb BurtonKaulig RacingChevrolet90Running
2122Austin CindricTeam PenskeFord90Running
31116A.J. AllmendingerKaulig RacingChevrolet90Running
41998Riley HerbstStewart-Haas RacingFord90Running
51739Ryan SiegRSS RacingFord90Running
649Noah GragsonJR MotorsportsChevrolet90Running
71868Brandon BrownBrandonbilt MotorsportsChevrolet90Running
8511Justin HaleyKaulig RacingChevrolet90Running
9102Myatt SniderRichard Childress RacingChevrolet90Running
10320Harrison BurtonJoe Gibbs RacingToyota90Running
112344Tommy Joe MartinsMartins MotorsportsChevrolet90Running
12218Daniel HemricJoe Gibbs RacingToyota90Running
132766Timmy HillMBM MotorsportsFord90Running
141451Jeremy ClementsJeremy Clements RacingChevrolet90Running
152226Colin GarrettSam Hunt RacingToyota90Running
162661David StarrMBM MotorsportsToyota90Running
171302Brett MoffittOur MotorsportsChevrolet90Running
182048Jade BufordBig Machine RacingChevrolet90Running
193715Colby HowardJD MotorsportsChevrolet90Running
20324Landon CassillJD MotorsportsChevrolet90Running
213036Alex LabbéDGM RacingChevrolet90Running
22330Jeffrey EarnhardtJD MotorsportsChevrolet90Running
232147Kyle WeathermanMike Harmon RacingChevrolet90Running
243823Natalie DeckerOur MotorsportsChevrolet90Running
25365Matt MillsB.J. McLeod MotorsportsChevrolet90Running
263478Jesse LittleB.J. McLeod MotorsportsChevrolet90Running
273199Mason MasseyB.J. McLeod MotorsportsToyota90Running
281592Josh WilliamsDGM RacingChevrolet90Running
2987Justin AllgaierJR MotorsportsChevrolet90Running
30396Ryan VargasJD MotorsportsChevrolet90Running
3168Josh BerryJR MotorsportsChevrolet90Running
32121Michael AnnettJR MotorsportsChevrolet88Running
333507Joe Graf Jr.SS-Green Light RacingChevrolet88Running
342452Gray GauldingJimmy Means RacingChevrolet87Electrical
351654Ty DillonJoe Gibbs RacingToyota87Accident
362928Joey GaseSS-Green Light RacingChevrolet85Running
37719Brandon JonesJoe Gibbs RacingToyota84Accident
382890Caesar BacarellaDGM RacingChevrolet84DVP
394013Jason WhiteMBM MotorsportsFord51Suspension
402574Bayley CurreyMike Harmon RacingChevrolet34Overheating
Italics – Competing for Rookie of the Year
* – Ineligible for Xfinity points
Avatar photo
3707 posts

About author
Justin is not an off-road racer, but he writes about it for The Checkered Flag.
Related posts
NASCAR Xfinity SeriesOff Road

Sheldon Creed, Riley Herbst running off-road throwbacks at Darlington

3 Mins read
Sheldon Creed and Riley Herbst, off-road racers before pursuing stock car careers, will respectively honour Ivan Stewart and Terrible Herbst Motorsports for the NASCAR Xfinity Series at Darlington.
NASCAR Xfinity Series

Young's Motorsports adds Xfinity programme with Honeyman

1 Mins read
NASCAR Truck team Young’s Motorsports will expand to the Xfinity Series in 2024 with Leland Honeyman Jr. as the driver of the #42.
NASCAR Xfinity Series

Blaine Perkins joining RSS Racing for 2024 Xfinity

1 Mins read
Blaine Perkins will race full-time in the NASCAR Xfinity Series in 2024 for RSS Racing.