Formula E

Antonio Felix Da Costa on pole position in Monaco, with 0.059 seconds separating top 4

3 Mins read
Courtesy of Formula E

The Jewel in the Crown that is Principality of Monaco delivered a thrilling qualifying session on the first visit of the ABB FIA Formula E World Championship to the full Circuit de Monaco track: Antonio Felix Da Costa (DS Techeetah) was the polesitter, with Robin Frijns (Envision Virgin Racing), Mitch Evans (Jaguar Racing), and Jean-Eric Vergne (DS Techeetah) less than six hundredths of a second behind him.

The DS Techeetah team delivered performance today, putting both their cars in the top six positions of group qualifying. It allowed them both to be in Superpole, granting them the best chances to score a good amount of points in the race later. The DS Techeetah team are fourth in the Formula E team championship, one point behind Envision Virgin Racing.

Track evolution did not play as much of a factor as it has in previous races, as eleven drivers have less than half a second gap with the driver on pole position and only Nyck de Vries (Mercedes-EQ Formula E) and Sergio Sette Camara (Dragon/Penske Autosport) have more than a second gap with the leader.

Robin Frijns is the highest-placed driver outside of the top five contenders in the drivers’ championship, starting the race in second place, 0.012 seconds behind Antonio Felix Da Costa. He was the leader in group qualifying, so he will gain one point in the championship, effectively passing Sam Bird (Jaguar Racing) for third place, for now. Frijns’ teammate Nick Cassidy, who entered the championship only six races ago and scored pole position in Rome Round four, qualified seventh for this Monaco race. The Envision Virgin team could score a good amount of points as well this race.

It was mixed qualifying results for the Jaguar squad, as Mitch Evans will start in third but his teammate Sam Bird is down in fifteenth place. Bird was affected by a collision with driver’s championship leader Nyck De Vries (Mercedes-EQ), who said he had an issue with his car that lost him the full 250 kWh lap performance. Stoffel Vandoorne, De Vries’s teammate and second-place driver in the driver’s championship, is just ahead of Sam Bird.

Sette Camara was the only driver who did not complete a lap, as he spun during the group qualifying session. Tom Blomqvist (NIO 333 Racing) and Sebastien Buemi (Nissan e.dams) were behind him, but they were allowed to complete their one-lap qualifying because they already were on their full power lap. Buemi’s teammate Oliver Rowland was disqualified from Superpole, as he left the pitlane when the light had turned red. He will start in sixth ahead of Cassidy.

Pascal Wehrlein (TAG Heuer Porsche Formula E), who was out in Group two alongside Felix Da Costa and Vergne, managed to qualify eighth, showing the pace of the Porsche on one lap. Sadly, in previous races, the Porsche seemed to lack some race pace. Andre Lotterer, the other driver of the Porsche 99X Electric, qualified in nineteenth position. The Porsche team have had a very bad season so far, with both drivers classified in tenth and sixteenth in the championship.

In Valencia, it was Jake Dennis who won Round six for the BMW i Andretti Motorsport team. They had a varied result in this qualifying session: Maximilian Günther will start the race in fifth place ahead of Oliver Rowland but Dennis will start fourteenth. With the closeness between drivers in terms of pace, can BMW i Andretti push themselves into the top five teams and make a bid for the championship?

Alex Lynn, who was second in the DHL Valencia E-Prix Round six, qualified in ninth position ahead of the race, showing the progress Mahindra Racing have made on their qualifying lap pace. His teammate Alexander Sims is twelfth, showing that even though their qualifying pace is better, there is still progress to be made for the Indian team.

Norman Nato is the last driver in the top ten, racing for the home team ROKiT Venturi Racing.

The race for the victory in the streets of the Principality of Monaco starts at 16:00 CET (15:00 BST).

Group qualifying results

14Robin FrijnsNLDEnvision Virgin Racing1:31.638
220Mitch EvansNZLJaguar Racing+ 0.134
328Maxilimilian GüntherGERBMW i Andretti Motorsport+ 0.179
413Antonio Felix Da CostaPORDS Techeetah+ 0.194
525Jean-Eric VergneFRADS Techeetah+ 0.201
622Oliver RowlandGBRNissan e.dams+ 0.212
737Nick CassidyNZLEnvision Virgin Racing+ 0.215
899Pascal WehrleinGERTAG Heuer Porsche Formula E+ 0.262
994Alex LynnGBRMahindra Racing+ 0.314
1071Norman NatoFRAROKiT Venturi Racing+ 0.326
1133Rene RastGERAudi Sport ABT Schaeffler+ 0.487
1229Alexander SimsGBRMahindra Racing+ 0.508
1323Sebastien BuemiCHENissan e.dams+ 0.571
1427Jake DennisGBRBMW i Andretti Motorsport+ 0.609
155Stoffel VandoorneBELMercedes-EQ Formula E+ 0.639
1610Sam BirdGBRJaguar Racing+ 0.643
1711Lucas Di GrassiBRZAudi Sport ABT Schaeffler+ 0.665
1848Edoardo MortaraCHEROKiT Venturi Racing+ 0.691
1936Andre LottererGERTAG Heuer Porsche Formula E+ 0.701
206Nico MüllerCHEDragon/Penske Autosport+ 0.706
2188Tom BlomqvistGBRNIO 333 Racing+ 0.992
228Oliver TurveyGBRNIO 333 Racing+ 0.995
2317Nyck De VriesNLDMercedes-EQ Formula E+ 1.432
247Sergio Sette CamaraBRZDragon/Penske AutosportRetired

Superpole results

113Antonio Felix Da CostaPORDS Techeetah1:31.317
24Robin FrijnsNLDEnvision Virgin Racing+ 0.012
320Mitch EvansNZLJaguar Racing+ 0.051
425Jean-Eric VergneFRADS Techeetah+ 0.059
528Maximilian GüntherGERBMW i Andretti Motorsport+ 0.722
622Oliver RowlandGBRNissan e.damsDSQ
38 posts

About author
Anna Schuurmans is a freelance journalist who discovered her passion for motorsport in the last three years. She loves Formula 1, Formula 2 and Formula E, and tries to learn as much as possible about them. She is also part of the LGBTQ+ community and strives for equality for all.
Related posts
Formula E

Edoardo Mortara Gives Venturi Victory in Second Race of Puebla E-Prix Weekend

2 Mins read
Edoardo Mortara moved to the top of the Formula E Drivers’ Championship on the back of his race two victory in Mexico on Sunday.
Formula E

Wehrlein Disqualification Hands di Grassi Opening Puebla E-Prix Victory

2 Mins read
Lucas di Grassi took race one victory in Mexico after Pascal Wehrlein was sensationally disqualified as he crossed the line.
Formula E

Joel Eriksson: “Formula E has been on my wish list for several years”

1 Mins read
Joel Eriksson is preparing for his Formula E debut this weekend as he participates in the Puebla E-Prix with Dragon/Penske Autosport.