Formula E

Cape Town, Vancouver and Seoul Join 2021-22 Formula E Calendar

2 Mins read
Credit: FIA Formula E

The calendar for the 2021-22 ABB FIA Formula E World Championship season has been unveiled, with sixteen races across twelve cities on four continents forming the series’ biggest year to date.

The season will begin with a double header on 28/29 January 2022 in Saudi Arabia with the Diriyah E-Prix before the Mexico City E-Prix returns on 12 February.

The first new race on the calendar will take place around Cape Town in South Africa on 26 February before a race in China on 19 March, although the venue for the Chinese race has yet to be confirmed.

The Rome E-Prix reverts to just a single race for next season after running as a double header in the 2020-21 season as it hosts round six on 9 April, while the Monaco E-Prix becomes an annual feature on the calendar after being a bi-annual event up until now.

The traditional Berlin E-Prix will be round eight on 14 May, while there is a yet-to-be-announced round nine on 4 June.  The final single race weekend is another new event on the calendar on 2 July, with the Canadian city of Vancouver hosting its first race.

The New York City E-Prix continues as a double header on 16 and 17 July, with London then hosting a double header on 30 and 31 July.  The season then ends with another double header in South Korea, with Seoul hosting two races across the 13 and 14 August.

The Paris E-Prix drops off the calendar but will return to for the 2022-23 season, while the Puebla and Valencia E-Prix, both late additions to the 2020-21 calendar, do not return.

“The provisional calendar for Season 8 looks really strong and it’s good to have it confirmed so early – this will really help with the teams planning and logistics,” said Susie Wolff, the Team Principal of ROKiT Venturi Racing.

“We’ll be returning to some key iconic inner city locations like London, New York, Mexico City and of course, our home race in Monaco, but there are also some very interesting new additions as well.

“Racing in Vancouver and Cape Town and returning to China is major progress for Formula E and Seoul should make for a fantastic location for the season finale and Formula E’s 100th race.”

1 & 2Diriyah E-PrixSaudi ArabiaRiyadh Street Circuit28 & 29 January 2022
3Mexico City E-PrixMexicoAutódromo Hermanos Rodríguez12 February 2022
4Cape Town E-PrixSouth AfricaTBA26 February 2022
5TBAChinaTBA19 March 2022
6Rome E-PrixItalyCircuito Cittadino dell’EUR9 April 2022
7Monaco E-PrixMonacoCircuit de Monaco30 April 2022
8Berlin E-PrixGermanyTempelhof Airport Street Circuit14 May 2022
10Vancouver E-PrixCanadaVancouver Street Circuit2 July 2022
11 & 12New York City E-PrixUnited StatesBrooklyn Street Circuit16 & 17 July 2022
13 & 14London E-PrixUnited KingdomExCel London30 & 31 July 2022
15 & 16Seoul E-PrixSouth KoreaSeoul Street Circuit13 & 14 August 2022
12845 posts

About author
Thirty-something motorsport fanatic, covering Formula 1, Formula Renault 2.0 and Formula 3. Feel free to give him a follow on Twitter at @Paul11MSport.
Related posts
Formula EShows and Events

Mahindra Racing to Showcase Gen3 Formula E car at Goodwood Festival of Speed

1 Mins read
Mahindra Racing will bring the Gen3 Formula E car to the Goodwood Festival of Speed, with Nick Heidfeld to take the wheel of the M9Electro.
Formula E

Mitch Evans Denies Jean-Éric Vergne Victory in Inaugural Jakarta E-Prix

3 Mins read
Mitch Evans took his third win of the Formula E season in the Jakarta E-Prix on Saturday ahead of Jean-Éric Vergne and Edoardo Mortara.
Formula E

Lotterer Aiming to Maintain Unbroken Run of Qualifying Duels Appearances in Jakarta

2 Mins read
André Lotterer has made the Qualifying Duels in each of the opening eight races of the season, and is aiming for nine in a row this weekend in Indonesia.